Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WG 223 Tap/Race/Feminism: WG 223 Tap/Race/Feminism

Books

Performance Archive

Other Useful Research Guides

Use the Primary Sources tab in the American History guide for more digital archives.  The African-American Studies guide has a wide variety of types of information available.

AFRICAN AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS

Journals and Periodicals

Ditigal Archives

Digital Public Library of America
A remarkable collection of images, text, videos, and audio material from the collections of U.S. public libraries.  Search specific people, or search on "tap dance", then look for the box on the bottom left for types of material.  Select "Moving Image" to see a collection of video interviews of Honi Coles.

Library of Congress Tap Dance in America  
Documentation of twentieth-century tap performance. The collection is searchable by the title, date, and venue of performance; dancer, choreographer, director, producer; and performance medium (film, television, radio, stage, club); as well as by the names of “tap numbers” and tap choreographies. Though the database is not complete in any way, it is the most exhaustive and detailed collection of materials on record.  You could also search The Library of Congress as a whole to see a wider range of material, from audio to print.

Tap Dancing Resources. Links to tap websites

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next