Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing Program: WP 115 TOYS

FINDING YOUR WAY

    

  Photo from Denver Botanical Gardens  -- visit there in autumn to see this combination of wildflowers

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in MLA International Bibliography, Academic Search Complete,  and other databases at right. For sample databases in each discipline, scroll down to the section on the right headed, Academic Databases by Discipline.

  • What research questions have you developed? Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in.
    • Biographical? Try Scribner Writers, Credo, or monographic biographies. 
    • Contemporary public reactions?  Search ProQuest Newspapers or choose magazines in Academic Search Complete
    • Literary analyses of an author? Search in MLA International Bibliography
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking. You can limit your search to e-books!

  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Evaluate each source you find: who produced it? why? when? who published it?
  • Make sure to read the page on Researching and Reading


And if you need help with anything, don't hesitate to contact me:                                        kjgillum@colby.edu

Searching Tips

KEYWORD SEARCHING

  • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings:  femin*  = feminist, feminism, etc.
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase:  "gender roles" 
  • Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms:  (refugee OR migrant)

REFINE YOUR SEARCH

  • Use the various limiting parameters in sidebars of databases to narrow your search appropriately
  • Skim the terminology in entries for new keywords and synonyms to use in repeating your search

EXPAND YOUR SEARCH

  • On the EBSCO platform, click on the Choose Databases link near the top of the screen to add another subject database to your field of search

SUBJECT SEARCHING

  • Find a good book or article in a Keyword search? Look at its full record to see if there are Subject Terms. Click on these links to find other sources about that subject.

A few examples:

JOURNAL STATUS

  • How to tell whether a journal is well regarded in the subject area that interests you: view slideshow

Record in a Database

The record below is from Academic Search Complete. Clicking on a citation in your result list will take you to a record like this:

CITATIONS IN BRIEF

REQUESTING CBB BOOKS [CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE]

Record for a Book in CBBcat

How To : Requesting Books Through CBBcat

Click where the arrow points to request. Fill in only the numerals of the barcode on the back of your Colby ID.

LIBRARY RESOURCES

 

Karen Gillum,
Librarian

kjgillum@colby.edu                    

FIRST STEPS for REMOTE RESEARCH

  • Check the  REMOTE ACCESS page.
  • Make sure you have Okta set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the Okta link first.)
  • Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are here.

CREDO  check facts: people, dates, events, etc.

Academic Search Complete  find both scholarly and popular articles in many areas

ProQuest Newsstand
Newspaper Guide

Search!

To look for E-Books, change Entire CBB Collection to E-Books


 

Search databases for  newspaper, magazine & journal articles.

Newspapers and magazines for public discussions that are going on now.

Overviews and summaries of public issues

 

Sign up for ILL and request articles Colby doesn't own.


ACADEMIC DATABASES BY DISCIPLINE

Scholarly journals for rigorous examination and analysis of a question

   Humanities:

    Science:

    Social Science:

    Arts:

General Academic:

Look for databases by subject
More directions for databases in 1-minute videos!


How To : Requesting Books Through CBBcat

 

Search WorldCat:  Find in a library with WorldCat   for books worldwide 

Further Information

 

Find more information in guides on selected authors or topics:

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next