It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
by Karen Gillum
Last Updated Feb 9, 2022
2927 views this year
Library of Congress subject headings could be an interesting source of data for this project, and can give you hints on what terms you might search in other resources. This information is easily findable via search engine, or ask me for help tracking it down. For more information about how subject headings reinforce certain ideas about categories, check out the documentary "Change the Subject".
Women's Magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowThis is a searchable, full-text archive of 12 leading American women’s magazines. including Essence, Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.
OpinionArchivesThis link opens in a new windowOpinionArchives provides a metasearch covering a number of popular American periodicals that feature political and cultural commentary, including The New Yorker, The New Republic, Harper's Magazine, and The Weekly Standard.
American PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new window"This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage includes the modernist movement in art and culture.
The Nation ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowThe Nation is an American journalistic magazine, published weekly since 1865, featuring stories and commentary on politics and culture. The archive contains full text of every issue published in the periodical's history.
National Journal Policy CentralThis link opens in a new windowAccess to archived content -- covering 1977 to the present -- of the National Journal, a non-partisan weekly on politics, policy and government and the latest editions of the Almanac of American Politics, plus daily news briefings on politics and U.S. Congressional activity.
National Review ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowFull text of all issues of the National Review journal -- which focuses on American politics and culture from a conservative perspective -- from its creation in 1955 to the present.
If you want to use materials from Colby's Special Collections and Archives for your research, email firstname.lastname@example.org to request an appointment. Some items, like the Colby Echo archives, have been digitized. Explore here.