It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America History and LifeArticle abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.
Art & Architecture SourceA database of full-text articles from journals covering all varieties of art, including fine arts, commercial arts, and architecture.
Arts (Proquest)Search across journal articles, historic periodicals, newspapers and dissertations to find scholarly and popular analyses on topics in fine arts, fashion, design, film, music, dance and theater.
HathiTrustHathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform, providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Highly robust searching and customizationi tools for display and download make this an essential tool for researchers.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
JSTORFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
Maine Memory NetworkA statewide digital museum of over 12,000 historical items, including rare photographs, documents, artifacts and online exhibits from over 180 museums, historical societies, libraries, and other organizations.
Encyclopedia of Global Human MigrationReliably researched reference work exploring the themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of human population movement, including population datas, and updated reference to sources. To search, choose the option (right side of screen) to "Search within this book". Look for articles on "Canada: migration to the United States, "Jewish migration, 19th century to present," or "Poland, migration 19th century to present."
Ways of seeing...what's going on in this photograph
St. Peter's School, Lewiston, Class of 1910. Maine Memory Network. "St. Peter's School ('Ecole St Pierre') was the first parish school in Lewiston. It opened in 1878 to serve the French-speaking children of immigrants who poured into Lewiston in the 1860s and 70s to work in the mills. Although children were taught exclusively in French -- from Canadian textbooks -- until the 1930s, there was a growing desire among parents to "Americanize" their children to provide them with better life chances. Note the large Stars and Stripes behind the graduates."
Question, analyze, research
Photographic analysis toolscreated by the National Archives and the Library of Congress will help you elicit questions about your photograph.
French-Canadian immigrants in Maine: identity and assimilation in Franco-American communities
Possible Keywords: (use asterisk to retrieve spelling variations)
Franco-American*, French-Canadian*, French Americans
Immigra* / Emigra*
Assimilation / Identity
Canada / Quebec
Lewiston / Maine / New England / Americ* / United States
St. Peter's, Catholic church, churches, church schools, parish, Diocese