Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TD 120 Performing Spaces / Writing the City: Research

Fall 2020. Instructor: Shanks

Find Scholarly Articles

Articles not available in full-text? Request through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service. Some articles are sent in just a few hours.

In databases, look for Request from ILLiad or Request from another library links when you are directed to a screen that that says full-text is not available at Colby.

Scholarly Journals

Articles in scholarly journals are particularly important to academic research. They:

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

Look for options in databases to limit results to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Following a Citation Trail

Check the WORKS CITED, NOTES, REFERENCES and BIBLIOGRAPHIES of every relevant article or book. You may discover another book or article perfect for your topic.

sample citations Hafley, J.R., The Glass Roof: Virginia Woolf as a Novelist. University of California Press, 1954.
Look for a Cited Work using:

OneSearch

OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. It's most useful for precise, controlled searches.

Use Advanced Search and limit by format.

To find an article listed in a bibliography, enter title of article in top row search box. You may need to also add the last name of the author in the second box.

To find book chapters, check the box BOOK CHAPTER in the "Show Content Type" limiter. Even if a book is not in CBBcat, you may still be able to get the chapter by using ILLiad and the book chapter request form.

Other Material

Databases can contain more than scholarly articles. Here are some other resources of interest.

  Photo: Dancing in the Park. Krocky Meshkin (CC by-NC-ND 2.0).

Tips for Using Library Resources

KEYWORD SEARCHES

In library catalogs and databases, keyword searches only look for exact letter combinations.

To narrow results, try using QUOTATION MARKS to glue together words in phrases, titles or an author's name. E.g. "body movement"

An ASTERISK is a wild card that stands in for different endings of a word. E.g. interact* = interact, interacts, interaction, interactions

 

SUBJECT SEARCHES

Keywords only show if a word is mentioned in an item. In contrast, SUBJECT HEADINGS describe what the item is actually about. Look in every item record for these live links or you can incorporate subject terms in subsequent searches. Sample CBBcat subject headings:

  • movement aesthetics
  • movement philosophy
  • movement psychology of
  • gesture
  • choreography
  • dance
  • dance philosophy
  • human body philosophy
  • human body social aspects
  • spatial behavior
  • space social aspects
  • social interaction
  • human territoriality
  • home
  • personal space
  • public spaces
  • public art
  • cities and towns
  • city planning social aspects
  • architecture and society
  • architecture human factors

 

SEARCH RESULTS

Not very many search results?  Omit some of your keywords or try broader terms. (Books covering broader topics may include chapters on the topic you're interested it. Check the index and the Table of Contents.) Use the "Choose Databases" OR "Change Databases" feature to expand what databases you're searching in.

Too many results? Use the limiters offered in a database interface to chunk down your search. Check "Peer-Reviewed" to get scholarly, academic sources. Use the date slider to find more recent material.

MLA Citation Help

Older editions of the MLA handbook are also available. Many databases still use the 7th edition.  OWL uses the 8th edition. Note the differences! Be consistent.

MLA 7th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies 42.2 (2001): 19-43. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 19 Jan. 2017.

MLA 8th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies, vol. 42, no. 2, 2001, pp. 19-43. EBSCO, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40643250. Accessed 19 Jan. 2017.

Find Scholarly Books

CBBcat, the library catalog, logo image

Search for physical and digital books, films and other media in our library catalog.

To identify SCHOLARLY BOOKS, investigate/examine the:

  • author (university affiliation, research specialty)
  • publisher (academic or university press)
  • writing style & intended audience
  • arguments, analysis, study methodology
  • notes, references, bibliography

REMOTE LEARNING: look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results . These are online resources.

Or use the drop-downs on the CBBcat search page, for a more precise search.

ON CAMPUS: Order physical books from all CBBcat locations for Miller pickup by clicking CBB Request in an item record. Miller Library bookstacks are also physically accessible when the library is open.

Physical books can also be ordered from MaineCat (a consortia of public and academic libraries throughout Maine).

The Library or the Web?

THE WEB:

Quick access to facts and biographical information (but not always reliable).

Popular publications are favored in searches, but there may be limited access.

Most scholarly works are either not on the open web or are behind paywalls.

THE LIBRARY:

Specializes in scholarly materials.

Library subscriptions provide free access to both scholarly and popular materials.

Reference resources are fact-checked by academic publishers.

ALL SOURCES (WHETHER LIBRARY OR WEB) SHOULD BE CRITICALLY EVALUATED!

Quick Reference

Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Contact me by email or chat (send me a Google Hangouts invite). Or let's talk about your research or information need on Google Meet or Zoom!
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next