It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HI 149 Modern Utopias: From the Satanic Mills to Silicon Valley
Fall 2021, Dr. Jesse Meredith
Find Articles in Databases
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
America History and LifeArticle abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.
Sociological AbstractsIndexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations of book reviews as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage dates from 1952 to the present.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes many scholarly journals, theses, books, and white papers from academic and society publishers. It also indexes patents and some case law.
SCHOLARLY JOURNAL articles are written by and for scholars. Look for a option to limit your results to peer-reviewed scholarly journals, the gold standard in academic research.
MAGAZINES and NEWSPAPERS (although not scholarly) can be used as primary sources to show the attitudes/beliefs of a time.
American Periodicals"This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage includes the modernist movement in art and culture.
African-American Periodicals, 1825-1995Archive of over 170 historical periodicals, including journals, newsletters, magazines, and bulletins, providing a unique window into African-American culture and history.
Alternative Press IndexThe Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)From its earliest beginnings when it urged African-Americans not to “spend your money where you can’t work,” the Los Angeles Sentinel has exposed prejudice, promoted social change, and empowered the black community. By accessing more than 70 years of cover-to-cover reporting, today’s readers view the Depression through the eyes of African-Americans in the 1930s. They can follow the grass-roots struggle against the racially restrictive housing covenants of the 1940s. Researchers can follow Roy Wilkins’ column, “The Watchtower,” and see how he attacked efforts to label civil rights activists as “communists” during the Cold War. Today, this independent publication continues to cover community and world issues from the unique cultural perspective of the Los Angeles African-American community.
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Boston Globe (1872-1982), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), New York Times (1851-2009), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), Washington Post (1877-1997).
Ethnic NewsWatchFull-text database of periodicals of the American ethnic and minority press, with works offering African-American, Arab-American, Asian-American, European-American, Latino, Jewish, and Native American perspectives.
The Chicago Manual of StyleThis 2017 edition of the guide has updated information on PDF annotation, citation management, and effective use of keywords. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language.
Publication Date: 2017
Citation managers help you organize your research, collect citations & automatically create bibliographies.
A digital library containing assets from over 100 research libraries, with document types including books, images, images, music scores, newspapers, and videos. Use the yellow "Log In" button to find and select Colby College, then follow the login prompts.
Credo General ReferenceA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
For PRINT MATERIAL & PHYSICAL MEDIA, note the book location and call number. The stacks in Miller, Olin and Bixler are open to browsing. To order physical items from the Colby Annex, Bates or Bowdoin: Click on
For DIGITAL MATERIALS, look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results. (E-books, streams, digital documents.)
Off-campus users will often be able to gain access to Colby Library resources using their Colby ID and password.. But for the most reliable access, install VPN (Virtual Private Network)on your computer or device. This fools your device into thinking you're on campus! (You may also need to click on the VPN app icon every time you sign in.)