* Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection - We analyze the full spectrum of violence ranging from ethnic conflicts and insurgencies/counterinsurgencies to state violence (torture, dirty wars, genocide) to domestic violence. GUIDE 1996 (Supplement 1) F1414.2 G89 | GUIDE 1993 F1414.2 G8955 | Women and Gender Issues - Latin America (Microfilm 3544, 3545, 3546). Digital Finding Aids for these microfilms on the Latin American Ephemera in Microfilm and Special Collections webpage, under Country > Subject.
* Princeton University Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera - Even though a significant number of items from earlier years have been included, the bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere
* Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) - Documents from the National Security Archive which reflect the most significant declassified primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Included are presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, confidential letters, email, and other secret material. Below are some of the Collections relevant to Human Rights. One can search across all DNSA Collections through the DNSA portal.
* Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825, from the British Library... Center for Research Libraries Microfilm
* NACLA Archive of Latin Americana - Microfilm at Colby Libraries (also listed by country below)
- Digital Library of the Caribbean - The amount of open access content available through dLOC surpasses many commercial Caribbean collections and includes newspapers, official documents, ecological and economic data, maps, histories, travel accounts, literature, poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3564)
- Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy Comprising 2,429 documents, this set chronicles the development of U.S. policy as it attempts to deal with the tragedy experienced in Argentina during the critical, formative period of the late 1970’s, which featured a political collapse verging on civil war; a military coup; and massive illegal detentions, torture and kidnappings. The documents show U.S. officials grappling with human rights violations on a scale never heard of in the Western Hemisphere, underscored by the dramatic disappearance of tens of thousands of people at the hands of the security forces. The declassified records in this set, most of them acquired by National Security Archive project staff and never before published, illustrate the birth of human rights as a priority in U.S. foreign policy – along with more traditional concerns ranging from the spread of international communism to nuclear proliferation in Latin America. [from DNSA Collection]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3530)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Human and Civil Rights - (Microfilm 3533, 3534) | Socioeconomic Conditions - (Microfilm 3553) | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3531, 3532)
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3574)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Socioeconomic Conditions - (Microfilm 3554,3555)
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE 2508 .B795 1999 (Microfilm 3529)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Socioeconomic Conditions - (Microfilm 3556) | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3535, 3536)
- Brazilian Government Documents
The Latin American Microfilm Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3575)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Human and Civil Rights - (Microfilm 3540, 3541) | Socioeconomic Conditions - (Microfilm 3559, 3560) | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3537, 3538, 3539)
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3569)
- Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010 The National Security Archive's Colombia collection traces 50 years of U.S. policy toward its most important Andea n ally throughout a period of sustained conflict, political corruption and civil unrest. The approximately 2,000 documents from the State Department, Pentagon, Central Intelligence Agency, and other agencies focus on U.S. efforts during the Cold War, when incipient insurgent groups first formed in the Colombian countryside; during the drug war, when powerful narcotics trafficking organizations threatened the country's political institutions; during the rise of paramilitary violence in the 1990's, when right-wing militias terrorized rural Colombia in a bid to dislodge guerrilla influence from lucrative narcotics trafficking regions; and during Plan Colombia and beyond, when the human rights issue came up against a multi-billion dollar U.S. investment in Colombian security forces. The collection features intelligence assessments of all the armed actors, detailed dossiers on Colombian political and military figures, and U.S. embassy records on the human rights vetting of Colombian security forces. The set includes documents on a number of important human rights cases, including the 1985 Palace of Justice tragedy, and the 1997 paramilitary massacre at Mapripán, which raised serious questions about the collaboration of Colombian security forces with illegal paramilitary groups. The collection also sheds light on the recent "para-politics" scandal, which has tied dozens of high-level Colombian officials to the drug trade and to illegal death squads, and the controversial negotiations leading to the demobilization of some paramilitary groups under President Álvaro Uribe. [From DNSA Collection]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3578)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Socioeconomic Conditions - (Microfilm 3562) | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3542)
- The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962. Documentation of U.S. decision making during the Cuban Missile Crisis, mostly dealing with the events of the "thirteen days" as well as events which formed the immediate backdrop to the crisis. Also included are documents covering the effects of the crisis on overall U.S. policy toward Cuba during the Kennedy administration and several retrospective studies of the missile crisis. [From DNSA Collection]
- The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War The Cuban missile crisis has been called a time when the world stared down "the gun barrel of nuclear war. " More than forty-five years after the events that brought the United States, Cuba, and the Soviet Union into near-catastrophic conflict, the crisis remains the most important episode in the complex and contentious history of the Cold War. In an age when weapons of mass destruction continue to generate fear and warfare, the history of the missile crisis, when such weapons were armed and aimed, remains among the most compelling international events for study by scholars and students.
This collection is a unique contribution to that history. Published here for the first time is a multinational set of records—declassified documentation from the United States, the Soviet Union, Cuba and other key countries—covering events leading up to and through the missile crisis in 1962. Consisting of 1,463 documents providing details that have reshaped our understanding of history, the collection covers the CIA-led invasion at the Bay of Pigs, covert operations leading up to the Soviet installation of intermediate range weapons in Cuba, the crisis itself as it played out in Washington, Moscow and Havana, the negotiations to end the crisis—between the U.S. and the Soviets, and between the Soviets and Fidel Castro—and international relations between these key actors in the aftermath of the Soviet withdrawal of its nuclear weapons. Beyond formerly top-secret records from the three main participants, the collection includes illuminating documents culled from the secret archives of other countries such as Canada, Great Britain, Brazil, Hungary and other nations that played a role in this unparalleled history. [From DNSA Collection]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3576)
- El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984
El Salvador contains more than 27,000 pages of documents covering one of the most hotly debated subjects of the last decade: the U.S. role in the civil war in El Salvador, including intelligence-gathering, policy-making, and extensive reporting on human rights abuses. [From DNSA Collection]
- El Salvador: War, peace and human rights, 1980-1994
The second set of declassified U.S. records concerning El Salvador, this collection incorporates several thousand U.S. government documents relevant to the human rights cases that were studied by the United Nations Truth Commission. Following the March 15, 1993 release of the commission's ground-breaking investigation, From Madness to Hope: The 12-Year War in El Salvador, members of the United States Congress wrote to President Clinton asking that the government documents be declassified for public inspection. [From DNSA Collection]
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3543)
- Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) - The AHPN Digital Archive is a collaborative project of UT Austin's Teresa Lozano Long Institute for Latin American Studies, Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice, and Benson Latin American Collection, with the Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala. The AHPN digitized documents facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation.
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3570)
- Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999 Guide E183.8.G9 G83 2002 (Microfiche 400)
- Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999 contains 2,071 declassified documents describing U.S. relations with Guatemala during the decades of violent conflict sparked by the CIA-controlled coup in 1954. The documents include CIA operational records produced during the coup, National Security Council deliberations on consolidating a post-coup regime friendly to the United States, and extensive intelligence and embassy reporting on Guatemala's U.S.-trained security apparatus. The material includes detailed information on the human rights catastrophe that gripped Guatemala during its 30-year civil conflict. Finally and most uniquely, the set contains an extraordinary and chilling record smuggled out of the archives of Guatemalan military intelligence—the grim, 54-page diario militar, or "death squad diary," obtained by National Security archive staff, which ties the Guatemalan army directly to the disappearance of dozens of Guatemalan citizens [From DNSA Collection]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3572)
- Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential "Banana Republic"
This collection details both the political and financial machinations of the fruit companies, but also the graft and corruption of the national government, the American banking community’s loans, the U.S. government’s response and the various aborted popular/revolutionary uprisings. The largest single group of records relates to Honduran political affairs; pertaining chiefly to the turbulent political situation and almost continuous revolutionary activity in Honduras. [from Gale Archives Unbound]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3573)
- Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
The collection contains correspondence addressed to Emiliano Zapata; combat reports; relations with troop commanders and officers; promotion and appointment requests; allegations of abuses committed by military personnel; applications for food, uniforms and ammunition; letters and telegrams on the transfer of prisoners. Document types include: transcripts, journals, laws and draft laws on land, drafts of circulars and manifestos by General Emiliano Zapata; and documents relating to the signing and ratification of the Plan de Ayala organizations. 4,771 images
Source Library: Archivo General de la Nacion, Mexico City [through Gale Archives Unbound]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3565)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3547)
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3568)
The Sandino Rebellion: Nicaragua 1927-1934 “Comprehensive, interpretive, open-access digital archive on the nationalist rebellion against US military intervention in Nicaragua led by Augusto C. Sandino in the 1920s and '30s… houses and integrates over 4,200 archival documents on the rebellion, comprising around 11,000 pages of hard-copy text & images, with a good portion of the text transcribed and fully searchable.”
- Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
Nicaragua contains more than 3,000 documents, many of which are recently declassified State Department cables obtained through a Freedom of Information Act lawsuit. Key events covered by the collection range from the outbreak of widespread opposition to the Somoza family dynasty through the Contra war of the 1980s, until the election of 1990 which brought an end to the Sandinista government. [From DNSA Collection]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F3408.P442 1999 (Microfilm 1617)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Human and Civil Rights - (Microfilm 3550) | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3541)
- Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000, is a uniquely detailed collection of records documenting U.S. foreign policy at work in Latin America, as well as a fascinating story of domestic politics in Peru. Incorporating the latest U.S. government releases, which significantly enrich the historical record, these documents, virtually all previously classified, provide a compelling primary-source portrait of Peru's civil war, internal repression, and growing authoritarianism during three successive Peruvian administrations, as witnessed by the U.S. embassy in Lima, U.S. military officials, and U.S. intelligence. Simply put, there is no available compilation of materials on the subject that comes close to the quality and extent of coverage provided by this collection. [From DNSA Collection]
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3566)
- Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection GUIDE F1414.2 G89 | Human and Civil Rights - (Microfilm 3552) | Women and Gender Issues - (Microfilm 3551)
- NACLA Archive of Latin Americana GUIDE F1414.2 .J64 1999 (Microfilm 3567) Top