Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Key Resources

This guide contains resources and links related to South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Latino(a) communities in the U.S.

Find Articles in Databases

Have an article citation from a bibliography? Search for the article in OneSearch.

Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Journals

Scholarly journals are particularly important in academic research.

  • They contain original research by scholars in a specific discipline.
  • Articles include in-text citations and references.
  • Articles in peer-reviewed journals go through a rigorous vetting process.

Many databases have a box that will allow you to limit your results to articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.

Citation Trails are Scholarship as Conversation

Look for additional sources in an item's bibliography, notes, references or works cited page. This is a way to see the attitudes, ideas and evidence the writer is drawing from.

Google Scholar and some databases also allow you to go forward to find scholarship reacting to that work. Just enter the title in Google Scholar and look for the "Cited By" link.

OneSearch

OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. It can be an avalanche of material that doesn't allow you to easily see connections, conversations. Use only for very precise searches:

  • Finding full text of a citation
  • Finding material on a narrow, specialized topic or little written-about person
  • Finding book chapters about a specific author or work
  • Finding book reviews

Use limiters and drop-downs in Advanced Search to focus your search!

News & Current Events

Colby Libraries Current & Historical Newspaper Guide
http://libguides.colby.edu/newspapers-at-colby

This guide has links to contemporary, historical, international and domestic newspapers.

Or try these:

rss icon

DID YOU KNOW...?
Many websites and subscription databases allow you to create a newsfeed tailored to your specific country and/or interest area. If you need help with this, just let me know.

Searching Tips

  • Keyword searches in most databases and catalogs only look for that exact combination of letters..

  • Use an asterisk as a wild card to include word ending variations. E.g. Maya* (for Maya, Mayan, Mayans)

  • Use quotes to glue a phrase together. E.g. "Latin America"

  • Broaden your search by using OR with parentheses. Results can contain either term. E.g. (army OR military).

  • Narrow your search by using AND. E.g. censorship AND media.

  • Refine your search through search strings. E.g. censorship AND (media OR newspaper*)

  • Click on a record's Subject Headings to find items grouped together by topic. E.g. El Salvador -- Politics and government -- 1979-1992
    E.g. Mexico -- Relations --  United States.

  • Expand your reach, sign up for ILLiad, our Inter-library loan service.

  • Order directly from within WorldCat by clicking on Request through ILLiad@Colby.

Related Guides

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Maps

Image from http://www.transitionsabroad.com

Find Maps (U.N.)

LANIC: Maps

An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next