It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA BibliographyProduced by the Modern Language Association of America to provide access to journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies published worldwide, with some links to full text. Covers scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing, as well as rhetoric and composition. Coverage from 1926 to the present.
Primary Sources and Texts
WESS: ItalianLinks provided by the Western European Studies Section of the American Library Association. Includes resources for history and primary documents.
OVI Project at ARTFL"The database contains 1960 vernacular texts, the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers." Detailed searching instructions on the page.
Harvard Map Collection Digital MapsHarvard College Library. Many maps have been digitized and can be search by geographic place or by theme. Only maps out of copyright are included (before 1923 or so).
Left: The late 16th-century city encircled by the Spanish walls (source: wikicommons) Right: Map of central Milan (source: wikicommons)
Steps in Your Research
Read your initial text attentively, considering what information would put the writing in context and give you a fuller understanding of it.
Think about what sorts of publicationsthe information you need might be published in
Look upbackground information in the reference materials, e.g., Credo Reference, encyclopedias, atlases and histories, etc.
Use terminology and facts learned from background sources to search for articles in historical newspapersand periodical databases.
Search for books (memoirs, collections of letters, biographies, diaries, special histories) in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subjectlinking
Ask your librarian! email@example.com
Find Books and Media
CBBcat - The Library Catalog of Colby, Bates & Bowdoin
Search for books, CDs, videos and more.
Search for books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Order through ILLiad.
Use quotes to glue a phrase together. E.g., "Milanese Design"
Use an asterisk as a wild card to cover word variations. E.g., Urban* (for Urban, Urbanized, Urbanist)
Broaden your search by using OR with parentheses. E.g., (Milan OR Italy). Results can contain either term.
Narrow your search by using AND. E.g., Milan AND Florence. Results must contain both terms.
Find one good item? Click on a record's Subject Headings to find similar material.
Expand your reach, sign up for ILLiad, our Interlibrary loan service.
Order directly from within WorldCat by clicking on Request through ILLiad@Colby.
CBBcat Subject Headings
Click on these links to find similar items. CBBcat uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Unfortunately, these headings sometimes use outdated terminology, but once identified they can often provide much more precise search results than using keywords. Examples of LOC Subject Headings:
This book provides a broad overview of the main features of Spanish Milan and their transformations during the 16th and 17th centuries. At the same time, it addresses an important and long-lasting historiographical debate that traditionally interpreted the Spanish period as one of decline for Italian cities in general and Milan in particular.