It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowArticle abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Bibliography of Native North AmericansThis link opens in a new windowCitations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering native North American culture, history, and life, with coverage spanning from the 16th century to the present. Topics include archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIndexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations of book reviews as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage dates from 1952 to the present.
Humanities International IndexThis link opens in a new windowA bibliographic index of over 1,700 U.S. and international journals in the humanities, covering articles, essays, reviews, and creative work in poetry, fiction, and visual arts.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
Newspaper CollectionsThis guide identifies and provides links to newspapers and newspaper databases to which Colby subscribes. Coverage is both current and historical. Also included are selected portals of newspapers freely available on the Web.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar indexes many scholarly journals, theses, books, and white papers from academic and society publishers. It also indexes patents and some case law.
Note the type of publication an article is in.
* Scholarly journals are the primary conduit of academic research. * Magazines can provide popular perspectives or alternative voices. * Newspapers can offer the most current information or show attitudes and feelings of a certain time.
Look for options in databases to limit your resultsto articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Articles in scholarly journals, especially when PEER-REVIEWED are particularly important to academic research. They:
provide in-depth analysis or report original research
Purdue OWLThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.
The Chicago Manual of StyleThis 2017 edition of the guide has updated information on PDF annotation, citation management, and effective use of keywords. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language.
Publication Date: 2017
Citation managers help you organize your research, collect citations & automatically create bibliographies.
Magazine published by a unit of the Arizona Dept. of Transportation,1921-2013
Primary Sources - Archival Collections
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowOpen access to historical U.S. media -- including written and spoken works, sound recordings, images, prints, maps, and sheet music -- documenting the American experience, drawn from the Library of Congress and other institutions.
HathiTrustThis link opens in a new windowA digital library containing assets from over 100 research libraries, with document types including books, images, images, music scores, newspapers, and videos. Use the yellow "Log In" button to find and select Colby College, then follow the login prompts.
Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection"As a collection of general Americana, the Newberry’s Edward E. Ayer Collection is one of the best in the country and one of the strongest collections on American Indians in the world.
The Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection features several thousand digitized images and texts selected from the Ayer materials."
To order items from Colby Storage, Bates or Bowdoin: Click on
Items not available at CBB or MaineCat? Check WorldCat and order through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.
Reference: Background Info, Statistics, Legal
Credo General ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Oxford English DictionaryThis link opens in a new windowThe full text online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains both the complete Second Edition and the New Edition in progress.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowAn online edition of the reference work from Cambridge University Press, with historical U.S. Census Bureau data on population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
Thomson Reuters WestlawThis link opens in a new windowAn online legal research tool providing full-text access to federal and state court cases , laws, statutes, and regulations, legal encyclopedias, law reviews and journals, and European Union legal materials.
Congress.govThis link opens in a new windowThe official search engine of U.S. federal legislative information, including current legislation, the Congressional Record, information on members, and committee reports.
U.S. Congressional Serial SetThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of over 12 million pages. Database searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.
Coverage: 15th Congress - 42nd Congress, 2nd Session, 1817 - 1980
Off-campus users will often be able to gain access to Colby Library resources using their Colby ID and password.. But for the most reliable access, install VPN (Virtual Private Network)on your computer or device. This fools your device into thinking you're on campus! (You may also need to click on the VPN app icon every time you sign in.)