It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology PlusA compilation of the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index Online, providing indexing of journals in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSourceFull-text online editions of numerous journals in anthropology and related fields, presented by the American Anthropological Association.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
PAIS IndexThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
ScopusThe largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Please note: there are problems with the Scopus service. Full-text links and exports to some citation managers are not working. A workaround to get the full text is to copy and paste the article title into ONE SEARCH on the library home page, and you'll be able to access the full text.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Border and Migration Studies OnlineBorder and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
The above databases can also be used to find non-scholarly material: magazines, newspapers, book reviews, etc. Look for document type designations.
REFERENCE & CONTEXT
Credo General ReferenceA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations.
Motivations for Humanitarian Intervention by Andreas KriegThis Brief sheds light on the motivation of humanitarian intervention from a theoretical and empirical point of view. An in-depth analysis of the theoretical arguments surrounding the issue of a legitimate motivation for humanitarian intervention demonstrate to what extent either altruism or national/self-interests are considered a righteous stimulus. The question about what constitutes a just intervention has been at the core of debates in Just War Theory for centuries. In particular in regards to humanitarian intervention it is oftentimes difficult to define the criteria for a righteous intervention. More than in conventional military interventions, the motivation and intention behind humanitarian intervention is a crucial factor. Whether the humanitarian intervention cases of the post-Cold War era were driven by altruistic or by self-interested considerations is a question is covered within and enables a comprehensive and holistic evaluation of the question of what motivates Western democracies to intervene or to abstain from intervention in humanitarian crises.
Publication Date: 2013 Springer
Humanitarian Intervention and the Responsibility to Protect by James PattisonThis book considers who should undertake humanitarian intervention in response to an ongoing or impending humanitarian crisis, such as found in Rwanda in early 1994, Kosovo in 1999, and Darfur more recently. Should we prefer intervention by the UN, NATO, a regional or subregional organization (such as the African Union), a state, a group of states, or someone else? The book answers this question by, first, considering what sorts of qualities interveners shouldpossess and their relative importance. For instance, how important is that interveners are legal, effective, have the support of their citizens, and are welcomed by those subject to the crisis? Second, it considers whether the current interveners actually possess these qualities. For instance, wouldintervention by the UN be legal, effective, have internal support, and be welcomed by those subject to the crisis? Overall, the book develops a normative account of legitimacy to consider these issues. It uses this account to assess not only current interveners, but also the desirability of potential reforms to the mechanisms and agents of humanitarian intervention.
Publication Date: 2010 Oxford University Press
All Necessary Measures by Carrie Booth WallingWhat prompts the United Nations Security Council to engage forcefully in some crises at high risk for genocide and ethnic cleansing but not others? In All Necessary Measures, Carrie Booth Walling identifies several systematic patterns in the stories that council members tell about conflicts and the policy solutions that result from them. Drawing on qualitative comparative case studies spanning two decades, including situations where the council has intervened to stop mass killing (Somalia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Sierra Leone) as well as situations where it has not (Rwanda, Kosovo, and Sudan), Walling posits that the arguments council members make about the cause and character of conflict as well as the source of sovereign authority in target states have the potential to enable or constrain the use of military force in defense of human rights. At a moment when constructivist scholars in international relations are pushing beyond empirical claims for the value of norms and toward critical analysis of such norms, All Necessary Measures establishes discourse's real-world explanatory power. From her comparative chronology, Walling demonstrates that humanitarian intervention becomes possible when the majority of Security Council members come to a shared understanding of the conflict, perpetrators, and victims--and probable when the Council understands state sovereignty as complementary to human rights norms. By illuminating the relationship between national interests and the core values of Security Council members and how it influences decision-making, All Necessary Measures suggests when and where the Security Council is likely to intervene in the future.
Publication Date: 2013 University of Pennsylvania Press
The Ethics of Armed Humanitarian InterventionThe question of military intervention for humanitarian purposes is a major focus for international law, the United Nations, regional organizations such as NATO, and the foreign policies of nations. Against this background, the 2011 bombing in Libya by Western nations has occasioned renewed interest and concern about armed humanitarian intervention (AHI) and the doctrine of Responsibility to Protect (RtoP). This volume brings together new essays by leading international, philosophical, and political thinkers on the moral and legal issues involved in AHI, and contains both critical and positive views of AHI. Topics include the problem of abuse and needed limitations, the future viability of RtoP and some of its problematic implications, the possibility of AHI providing space for peaceful political protest, and how AHI might be integrated with post-war justice. It is an important collection for those studying political philosophy, international relations, and humanitarian law.
Call Number: JZ6369 .E74 2014 Miller Stacks
Publication Date: 2014 Cambridge University Press
Humanitarian Intervention and the United Nations by Norrie MacQueenDoes humanitarian intervention 'work'? Could it work better if approached differently? Or should we just, in the words of one critic, 'give war a chance'?Since the end of the Cold War and the subsequent surge in civil and international conflicts, the UN has been faced by an ever-increasing set of demands on its military capacity. This book traces the evolution of its armed humanitarian intervention from the grand ambitions for forceful collective security through the 'brushfire' peacekeeping of the cold war years to its engagement with the present globalised yet fractured world order.Key FeaturesPresents a concise analytical overview of the theoretical, moral and practical issuesExplores the general setting of contemporary humanitarian interventionAssesses the actual record of post-Cold War humanitarian intervention on a region-by-region basis, from the Balkans to Africa and Southeast AsiaCompiles a balance sheet of success and failure in the UN's efforts and confronts hard questions about their short and long-term value
Call Number: JZ6369 .M33 2011 Miller Stacks
Publication Date: 2011 Edinburgh University Press
Humanitarian Intervention in the Long Nineteenth CenturyThis book is a comprehensive presentation of humanitarian intervention in theory and practice in the course of the long nineteenth century, a precedent of today's situation and debate regarding this controversial concept. Its main contributions are the following: the then international lawdebate, the international political theory on intervention and the thorough presentation and assessment of the four cases studies linked with the ongoing theory and debate, with emphasis on the lesser known Russian dimension. The book starts with a brief presentation of the present situation. The first part begins with the genealogy of the idea of assisting people who are maltreated which is to be found in the Renaissance, followed by the nineteenth century civilisation-barbarity dichotomy, with its biased Eurocentricgaze. It then examines the pivotal international law dimension, the arguments of advocates and opponents of humanitarian intervention, concluding with the views on intervention of major political theorists. The second part examines in detail four cases as instances of humanitarian intervention: theGreek war (1821-1831), the Lebanon/Syria ethnic conflict (1860-61), and the Bulgarian case (1876-78) in two chapters, with emphasis on the role of Britain and Russia, and the U.S. intervention in Cuba (1895-98). The book will be of benefit to scholars and students of International Relations,International History, International Law, international political theory and ethics in international politics.
Call Number: JZ6369 .H47 2015 Miller Stacks
Publication Date: 2015 Manchester University Press
Basic Documents on Human RightsThis is the eagerly awaited new edition of the established text Basic Documents on Human Rights which is an essential resource for all undergraduate students. The book provides an extensive collection of key documents and covering all elements of the subject, e.g. the Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women, accompanied by authoritative commentary and annotation. The result is a clear and accurate account of the most important Human Rights instruments adopted by the United Nations and its agencies, by regional organisations and other actors in the field. Forty new or amended instruments are featured in this edition and coverage of the new treaties and conventions includes; the Declaration on the Rights of Persons Belonging to National or Ethnic, Religious, or Linguistic Minorities, new treaties in emerging areas such as bio-ethics and a variety of additional protocols including those on civil and political rights, women and children. A new section of the text identifies the current number of States parties and directs the reader to the internet and other sources providing access to the latest information on ratifications, reservations and declarations.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineFull text of the publications of CIAO, with research in international affairs from a variety of sources such as conference papers, foundation-funded research projects, policy briefs, working papers, books, and journals.
A collection of declassified documents on US foreign and military policy since 1945. Included are presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, confidential letters, emails, and other secret material.
Covers official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. Includes Resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 to the present.
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. UNCDB provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
Alternative Press IndexThe Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)News sources from the US, Canada, and the rest of the world, 1980 - the present. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Provides full-text.