It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Anthropology PlusThis link opens in a new windowA compilation of the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index Online, providing indexing of journals in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSourceThis link opens in a new windowFull-text online editions of numerous journals in anthropology and related fields, presented by the American Anthropological Association.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
Humanities International IndexThis link opens in a new windowA bibliographic index of over 1,700 U.S. and international journals in the humanities, covering articles, essays, reviews, and creative work in poetry, fiction, and visual arts.
ATLA Religion DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowAn index of scholarly articles, reviews, and essays on religion and theology, primarily covering 1949 to the present.
PAIS IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
EconLitThis link opens in a new windowThe American Economic Association's online bibliography of over 120 years of economics literature, including journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and dissertations. Subtopics include economic and monetary theory, labor economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Please note: there are problems with the Scopus service. Full-text links and exports to some citation managers are not working. A workaround to get the full text is to copy and paste the article title into ONE SEARCH on the library home page, and you'll be able to access the full text.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar indexes many scholarly journals, theses, books, and white papers from academic and society publishers. It also indexes patents and some case law.
Articles in scholarly/academic journals, especially PEER-REVIEWEDjournals are particularly important to college research.
Look for check boxes in databases to limit your search resultsto articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Have an article citation from a bibliography? Search for the title in OneSearch to see if full text is available in Colby databases.
Look for Request from ILLiad or Request from another library links in databases, OneSearch and Worldcat.
BBC News Country ProfilesFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Statesman’s Yearbook OnlineIncludes information on every country in the world, covering key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defense, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets and much more.
World Data Analyst OnlineOffers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Ability to create tables, charts, export the information to a spreadsheet and link to country articles in Encyclopedia Britannica.
LabordocThe online catalog of the library of the International Labour Organization. The main aims of the ILO are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFull text of the publications of CIAO, with research in international affairs from a variety of sources such as conference papers, foundation-funded research projects, policy briefs, working papers, books, and journals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new windowProQuest's collection of dissertations and theses, many available in full text, with international coverage from 1861 to the present.
Newspapers and Current Events
BBC World NewsBreaking international news from the British Broadcasting Corporation.
DID YOU KNOW...?
Many websites and subscription databases allow you to create a newsfeed tailored to your specific country and/or interest area. If you need help with this, just let me know.
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowFull-text database of periodicals of the American ethnic and minority press, with works offering African-American, Arab-American, Asian-American, European-American, Latino, Jewish, and Native American perspectives.
New York Times 1980 to CurrentThis link opens in a new window"This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history."
Alternative Press IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.
Always check an item'sbibliography, notes, references or works cited page.
This is not only to check an author's evidence, but to find additional sources for your research.
Google Scholar and some databases also allow you to look forward in time at more recent articles and books that cite the item you're looking at. Just enter the title of the work in Google Scholar and look for the Cited By link.