Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GO/LA 253 Latin American Politics: Resources

http://libguides.colby.edu/go253

Find Articles

Databases contain citations to a variety of materials - articles (journal, newspapers, magazines), working papers, books, dissertations, etc.

To find Journal Articles in databases, look for options to limit or refine your search to scholarly/academic articles or journals.

Peer-Reviewed Articles are the gold standard of scholarly research. Many databases allow you to limit your results to these types of articles.

Narrowing results by Date Range  is another way to refine a search. Some databases offer a slider tool:

Look at Subjects or Author-Supplied Keywords in item records. Use these terms & links to help you better focus your search.

Experiment with search terms and combination of terms. This can make a huge difference in your results.

Check References and Bibliographies in relevant articles to find more articles!

Search multiple databases to get the best results. Different databases have different collections of material.

Citation Management

Collect citations, store PDFs, create bibliographies and more!

Latin American Studies Librarian

Karen Gillum's picture
Karen Gillum
Contact:
Miller Library 107B
kjgillum@colby.edu

In-office hours: generally, M 11:00-2:00; W 11:00-2:00; Th 11:00-2:00 I may be briefly absent for testing during these times.

Argentine Governors 2001
Gildo Insfran, Carlos Reutemann, Adolfo Rodríguez Saá, Néstor Kirchner, and other Argentine governors in a crisis meeting headed by Presidential Chief of Staff Chrystian Colombo (25 July 2001). By Marianopaez31 via Wikimedia Commons.

News & Current Events

rss iconDID YOU KNOW...?
Many websites and subscription databases allow you to create a newsfeed tailored to your specific country and/or interest area. If you need help with this, just let me know.

Polls & Public Opinion

Latin American Public Opinion Project
Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey, which currently covers 26 nations including all of North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean.

Latinobarómetro
An annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million inhabitants.

Related Guides

Find Books

   

in:

Advanced Search

In addition to keywords, try searching by Subject:

Neoliberalism (name of country)
Neoliberalism - Latin America
Democracy - Latin America
Democracy (name of country)

Country Name - Politics and Government
Country Name - History
Country Name - Economic

Latin America -- Politics and government
Business and politics - (Latin America or name of country)
Economic Development - (Latin America or name of country)
Economic Policy - Latin America - (Latin America or name of country)

Can't find what you're looking for in CBBcat?

MaineCat - provides access to library collections across Maine.

WorldCat - Materials can be ordered through ILLiad

Economic Statistics

World Bank Data & Statistics: Latin America & the Caribbean
Statistical snapshots and comparisons.

World Bank Development Indicators (WDI)
Data and statistics, including population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators, from 1960 to the present.

For further explanation:
World Development Indicators, Washington, D.C. : World Bank.
E-books:  2000, 2004-2013
Print: REF HC 59.15 .W656 (2011)
in Miller Library Reading Room.

Inter-American Development Bank Statistics & Databases
Includes over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Government Librarian

Bonnie Paige's picture
Bonnie Paige
Contact:
On leave Spring 2021- please contact hilary.baribeau@colby.edu for research help
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next