It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
REF PC 2100-2799
This section holds the French language dictionaries, for this semester on Reserve. Find them in the catalog by searching for Subject: French language - Dictionaries This will lead you to specialized dictionaries, as well, such as a Provencal dictionary, Middle French dictionaries, and dictionaries of French slang.
Grove Dictionary of Art/Oxford Art Online
This is a comprehensive art reference work with world-wide coverage of all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography. Includes many illustrations.
Diderot et d'Alembert Encyclopedie
The Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers, par une Société de Gens de lettres was published under the direction of Diderot and d'Alembert, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. Containing 74,000 articles written by more than 130 contributors, the Encyclopédie was a massive reference work for the arts and sciences, as well as a machine de guerre which served to propagate the ideas of the French Enlightenment.
All of the following titles are currently in the MILLER COMPACT SHELVING in the basement of Miller Library.
REF AE 25 .D548 1992
Dictionnaire Encyclopedique Desormeaux (Antilles & Guyane)
Excellent source for this region
REF AE 25 .E53 PLATES 1978 Diderot Encyclopedia: The Complete Illustrations 1762-1777 5 vols. NY: Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 1978. Illustrations for the text; an excellent source for historical images.
REF AE 25 .G64 Grand Larousse Encyclopedique 12 vols. Paris: Librairie Larousse, 1960. An update of the 19th-century Larousse.
REF AE 25 .G7 Grand Encyclopedie 31 vols. Paris: H. Lamirault et Cie,1886-1902. Another historical achievement.
General navigation in the Reference section of Miller:
This section holds the encyclopedias on French history.
REF PQ 1-3999
This section holds the encyclopedias on French literature.
REF PR 9100
This section holds the encyclopedias on Canadian literature.
A few encyclopedias that may be useful:
REF AE 25 .L32 1982 Grand Dictionnaire Universal du XIXe Siecle 16 vols. Paris: Librairie Classique Larousse et Boyer, 1982. An excellent source for historical material.
REF F 1006 .W3 Encyclopedia of Canada Toronto: University Associates of Canada, 1940
REF DC 33.7 .F723 2002
Francophone Studies: The Essential Glossary
Short entries on Francophone topics.
Europa World Plus London: Europa Publications Ltd. Each nation has an entry with essays on its recent history and economy, followed by statistics, an extensive directory, and a bibliography. You can also create tables comparing two nations.
REF DT 351 .E53 1997 Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara 4 vols. NY: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1997