It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTbibliographies ModernAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with entries dating from the 1960s to the present.
The ARTFL ProjectA large collection of French-language texts -- intended for the study of the French language but also useful for the research of French history and culture -- from the Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language.
Cambridge HistoriesOnline access to texts in the Cambridge Histories series, with titles organized by subject, including American history, British history, philosophy, religion, science, and literature.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
Nineteenth Century Collections Online"Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture—both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and a massive explosion of written material that dwarfed the output of the centuries that preceded it."
Project MUSEProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.modules, designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to chapters, books, websites, archives, or data sets.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative.
Gender Studies DatabaseThis database provides access to a full spectrum of gender-related scholarship, with over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
HathiTrustA digital library containing assets from over 100 research libraries, with document types including books, images, images, music scores, newspapers, and videos. Use the yellow "Log In" button to find and select Colby College, then follow the login prompts.
Oxford Art OnlineESSENTIAL. This comprehensive, online art encyclopedia is the best place to start your research on an artist or topic. It is a cross-searchable interface to the full text and new updates to The Grove Dictionary of Art (1996), The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998) and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Humanities International IndexA bibliographic index of over 1,700 U.S. and international journals in the humanities, covering articles, essays, reviews, and creative work in poetry, fiction, and visual arts.
Arts and Humanities Full-TextA database of full-text articles on a variety of topics in the arts and humanities, including history, linguistics, performing arts, archaeology, and architecture.
PAO - Periodicals Archive Online"Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages."
PAIS IndexThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
Bibliography of the History of ArtFrom the Getty Research Institute, indexing and abstracts of art books, articles, essays, conference proceedings, and dissertations, spanning the period of 1975 to 2007 and covering international art from all historical periods.