Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 493N 17th-century Literature and the Natural World (Sagaser): Research Resources

Environmental Humanities Lab, Spring 2021

Find Scholarly Articles in Library Databases

IMB: Click on advanced search tab. Enter keyword under Free Search. Under Thematic Search, you can limit your search to items covering the 17th century. There is also a geographic limiter. Open a record and scroll down for access links.

Example of a Peer-Reviewed Journal: New Literary History, Autumn 2020 issue, Animality/ Posthumanism/ Disability.

Scholarly journals:

  • present original research in a specific discipline
  • include in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

No Full-Text at Colby?

In databases, look for Request from ILLiad or Request from another library links when you are directed to a screen that that says full-text is not available. PDFs of some articles can arrive via ILLiad in just a few hours.

Featured E-Books - Early Modern Natural World

17th Century stone bridge crossing the River Wye in Derbyshire 17th-century stone bridge crossing the River Wye in Derbyshire. Photo by Billy Wilson, (Flickr CC by-NC 2.0).

Archival Material

Archival collections contain artifacts of a particular time (manuscripts, illustrations, letters, diaries, etc.) that can be used as primary sources. But they can also sometimes contain information that could be used for reference (background information, context, definitions, facts and overviews).

LIBRARY DATABASES

WEB RESOURCES

Searching Tips: Keyword Searches

KEYWORD SEARCHES

In many library catalogs and databases, keyword searches only look for the exact sequence of letters entered.

Experiment with different synonyms and search combinations. Look for new terms to try in search results.

An ASTERISK is a wild card that stands in for different endings of a word. ideal* = ideal, ideals, idealism, idealistic

To narrow results, try using QUOTATION MARKS to glue together words in phrases, titles or an author's name. "Paradise Lost"

Not very many search results?  Look for broader subject headings in item records. Browse these areas in Miller Library's bookstacks. Books covering broader topics may include chapters or significant passages on the author you're interested in. Check a book's table of contents and index.

Searching Tips: Subject Searches

SUBJECT SEARCHES

Subject searches take you to books that have been tagged as being about that person or subject. Identify SUBJECT HEADINGS by checking the item records found in a keyword search. Sample subject headings:

To find subject headings for an author, do a Subject Search using the author’s name (last name first): Milton, John (Select Subject from first drop-down option in CBBcat.) You can use the 2nd drop-down to specify books, e-books or another type of material.

 

Not very many search results?  Look for broader subject headings in item records. Browse these areas in Miller Library's bookstacks. Books covering broader topics may include chapters or significant passages on the author you're interested in. Check a book's table of contents and index.

Following a Citation Trail

Check the works cited, notes, references and bibliographies of every relevant article or book. You may discover a book or article perfect for your topic.

Borlik, Todd Andrew, 2019 - Literature and Nature in the English Renaissance. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019. (link to bibliography)

One good source can lead to another!
Look for a Cited Work using:

OneSearch

OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. It's most useful for precise, controlled searches.

Use Advanced Search and limit by format.

To find an article listed in a bibliography, enter title of article in top row search box. You may need to also add the last name of the author in the second box.

To find book chapters on a topic, enter your keywords and check the box Book Chapter in the "Show Content Type" limiter.

 

MLA Citation Help

Older editions of the MLA handbook are also available. Many databases still use the 7th edition.  OWL uses the 8th edition. Note the differences! Be consistent.

MLA 7th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies 42.2 (2001): 19-43. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 19 Jan. 2017.

MLA 8th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies, vol. 42, no. 2, 2001, pp. 19-43. EBSCO, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40643250. Accessed 19 Jan. 2017.

Reference Sources

Find Scholarly Books

CBBcat, the library catalog, logo image

Search for physical and digital books, films and other media in our library catalog.

To identify SCHOLARLY BOOKS, investigate/examine the:

  • author (university affiliation, research specialty)
  • publisher (academic or university press)
  • writing style & intended audience
  • arguments, analysis, study methodology
  • notes, references, bibliography

REMOTE LEARNING: look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results.

Or use the drop-down menus in the CBBcat search box.

ON CAMPUS: Click CBB Request in an item record to order items for Miller Library pickup. The Miller stacks are also open.

Humanities Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Contact me by email or chat (send me a Google Hangouts invite). Or let's talk about your research or information need on Google Meet or Zoom!

Other E-Books

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next