Skip to main content

EN 379: Home

Poetry and Music

 photo, Beyonce

Montecruz Foto

  photo - Else Dorfman

Pindar - Pythian 12

Casey J. Hopkins, photo

 

Music etc. websites

More Music Guides

MUSIC Guide

Popular Music Guide

Sibelius

This composition software is available in the Bixler Media Lab. Colleen Wright is the student tutor for help learning to use the software.

Her hours are:

Th 8 - 10 pm and F 9 - 11 am.

You can also email her at cewright@colby.edu to set up a different time to meet. 

Research Strategies

 

Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in.

 

            Biographical?  Try Credo and other reference sources, monographic biographies, - or look for interviews in databases or online

            Public reactions? Search newspapers, Academic Search Complete, or expert blogs and trade websites on the web

             Musical analyses? Search RILM or Music Periodicals databases.

 

And don't hesitate to ask questions!  Karen Gillum  kjgillum@colby.edu    Bonnie Paige bepaige@colby.edu

Reference

NOTE: If your musician is still active in the field, encyclopedias may not have been updated with their most recent work. Check for "last updated" on the entry and find more recent articles to fill in the gap.

Music Articles

Music Periodicals  -- Journal, newspaper, and magazine articles focused on music.

RILM -- Abstracts and citations from music journals, books, and magazines. In addition to scholarly work, it includes magazines like Spin and Rolling Stone, which often have interviews about a musician's favorite albums.

Academic Search Complete  -- Multidisciplinary database, includes popular magazine articles

Rock's Back Pages -- database of articles on rock music

RoJaRo -- most comprehensive index of articles on rock music; citations only, without full text  

Tips

1-Minute Video Tutorials on Using Library Resources

Directions on signing up for ILL

For works by individual musicians, search CBBcat by Author, typing in the family name first.

For books about individual musicians, search using their names as Subject, e.g.:

Look for more Subjects in the catalog and use them to branch out to more topics, e.g.:

 

Keyword Searching --  

Experiment with synonyms

Use asterisks to search for multiple word-forms at once: Poet* = Poet, Poetry, Poetic, Poets

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase: "Death Grips"

 

And when searching the web,

Notice the URL  in results. What sort of entity is responsible for the page you're reading?

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next