LibGuides: EN283 Environmental Humanities (Walker): Resources

Mighty on the Lehigh by A. Strakey. Abandoned Bethlehem Steel Works, 2009. Flickr (CC BY-ND 2.0)

Articles in Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Journals

Articles in scholarly/academic journals, especially PEER-REVIEWED journals are particularly important to college research. They:

provide in-depth analysis or report original research
use in-text citations and bibliographies
are written by and for scholars

Look for options in databases to limit your results to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Searching Tips

Search multiple resources.
Search for alternative keywords & subject headings.
Use database limiters & tools.

Photo: The Look, 2017, Flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

KEYWORD SEARCH - just words

Use QUOTATION MARKS to glue together words in phrases, titles or an author's name: "oil spill"

An ASTERISK is a wild card that stands in for different endings of a word: ethic* = ethic, ethics, ethical

A SEARCH STRING includes a combination of elements: "environmental justice" AND (animal*)

Note that synonyms should be contained in parentheses separated by OR.

SUBJECT SEARCH - "aboutness"

Do a keyword search then look for SUBJECT HEADINGS in item records. Subject headings can help you find books by subject matter, not just by the occurrence of words in item records.

Keyword search: Ecopoetry.

Subjects listed in item records: Ecology in literature, Ecocriticism, Nature conservation in literature, Environmental protection in literature

Click on the subject links or do new searches with the terms listed.

Following a Citation Trail

Check the WORKS CITED, NOTES, REFERENCES and BIBLIOGRAPHIES of every relevant article or book.

Hafley, James Robert, 1928 - The Glass Roof: Virigina Woolf as a Novelist. Berkely: University fo California Press, 1954. (link to bibliography)
Look for a Cited Work using:

OneSearch (articles)
CBBcat (books, media available through Colby)
Hathi Trust (sometimes has full-text digital versions of older books or articles)
WorldCat (if can't find resource locally)

OneSearch

OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. Use for very precise searches:

Finding a specific article
Finding book chapters on a topic
Finding book reviews

For best results, use limiters: field drop-downs (Title, Publication Title), content type (articles, book chapters, book reviews), etc.

For topical searches, first consult CBBcat and individual databases.

Literature & Film Databases

Try these library DATABASES to find scholarly articles related to literature and film:

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The Modern Language Association of America's database of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies covering scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, printing, publishing, rhetoric, and composition, with coverage from 1926 to the present.

MLA International Bibliography is the main go-to database for literature. Try here first.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text access to scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus citations to monographs and other academic materials.

WARNING: JSTOR may not include recent issues of journals. Missing issues can go back as far as 5 years.

Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index of over 1,700 U.S. and international journals in the humanities, covering articles, essays, reviews, and creative work in poetry, fiction, and visual arts.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.modules, designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to chapters, books, websites, archives, or data sets.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA) This link opens in a new window This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.

[in]Transition Peer-reviewed visual journal of videographic film and moving image studies.

Other Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Full text of journals and monographs in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, and environmental technology and law.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts of government, scholarly, and general-interest publications relating to human impact on the environment, with full-text access to many resources. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Please note: there are problems with the Scopus service. Full-text links and exports to some citation managers are not working. A workaround to get the full text is to copy and paste the article title into ONE SEARCH on the library home page, and you'll be able to access the full text.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window From the National Library of Medicine, a database of citations from international journals in all areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and health administration, with coverage from 1966 to the present, also covering related topics such as biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text database of periodicals of the American ethnic and minority press, with works offering African-American, Arab-American, Asian-American, European-American, Latino, Jewish, and Native American perspectives.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window News sources from the US, Canada, and the rest of the world, 1980 - the present. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Provides full-text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar indexes many scholarly journals, theses, books, and white papers from academic and society publishers. It also indexes patents and some case law.

Video/Media Production

[in]Transition
Peer-reviewed visual journal of videographic film and moving image studies.
Videoblocks
Colby subscription to stock footage database.
Audioblocks
Music, sound effects, loops
Thingiverse 3D designs
"MakerBot's Thingiverse is a thriving design community for discovering, making, and sharing 3D printable things."
Colby Video Production Webpage

Video Production Specialist

Tim Stonesifer

Contact: trstones@colby.edu

I'm here to help with any part of your video project. Email me to set up a time to meet or you can come by my office in Miller 102.

Other Library Guides

Environmental Humanities - An open access, peer-reviewed journal published by Duke University. Includes The Living Lexicon, which are essays on important keywords.