Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 200 A Foundations of Literary Studies (Hanlon): Research Resources

Fall 2021

Find Scholarly Articles in Databases

Examples of peer-reviewed journals, which have articles that can be accessed through the MLA International Bibliography database.

Articles not available in full-text? Request through ILLiad interlibrary loan.

Look for Request from ILLiad or Request from another library links when a database advices you that full-text is not available.

Scholarly Journals

Databases can contain different types of material (articles, books, book reviews, book chapters, etc.). Articles can be from scholarly journals, magazines or newspapers. Many assignments require articles that are peer-reviewed. Look for options in databases to limit your results.

Articles in peer-reviewed journals:

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • cite the work of others using in-text citations, notes and bibliographies
  • are vetted by other scholar experts in the field

MLA Citation Help

OneSearch

OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. Use for very precise searches:

  • Finding a specific article
  • Finding book chapters on a topic
  • Finding book reviews

For best results, use limiters:  field drop-downs (Title, Publication Title), content type (articles, book chapters, book reviews), etc.

For topical searches, first consult CBBcat and individual databases.

  Girl reading a book, Freestocks, Flickr (CC0 1.0)

Reference & Contextual Information

  • Provides summaries and overviews
  • Helps you identify search terms
  • Allows topic exploration
  • Illuminates word meanings and etymologies

side view of the marbled pages of a closed dictionary with indented finger holds for different letters Dictionary, Mike Licht, Flickr (CC by 2.0)

Search Tips

KEYWORD SEARCH

In library catalogs and many databases, keyword searches only look for EXACT matches. A search using one form of a word may not find derivatives. A search of a singular noun, may not find results that only use the plural form.

An ASTERISK is a wild card that stands in for different endings of a word. ideal* = ideal, ideals, idealism, idealistic

Use QUOTATION MARKS to glue together words in phrases, titles or an author's name. "stream of consciousness"

Use OR phrases (in parentheses or within a search row) to cover possible synonyms. (jester OR fool)

Use AND phrases to narrow and focus a search. mother* AND "toni morrison"

SUBJECT SEARCH

Subject searches take you to books that have been tagged as being about that person or subject. Identify SUBJECT HEADINGS by checking the item records found in a keyword search.

To find subject headings for an author, do a Subject Search using the author’s name (last name first): Eliot, George (Select Subject from first drop-down option in CBBcat.)

Following a Citation Trail

Check the works cited, notes, references and bibliographies of every relevant article or book. You may discover a book or article perfect for your topic.

sample citations  Bibliography, Hafley, James Robert, The Glass Roof: Virgina Woolf as a Novelist, UC Press, 1954.


LOOK FOR A CITED WORK USING:

Find Books in Our Library Catalog

CBBcat, the library catalog, logo image

Search for physical and digital books, films and other media in our library catalog.

A book of literary criticism can be by a single author or can be an edited anthology with chapters ("book articles") on different aspects of the book's general theme.

To identify SCHOLARLY BOOKS, investigate/examine the:

  • author (university affiliation, research specialty)
  • publisher (academic or university press)
  • writing style & intended audience
  • arguments, analysis, study methodology
  • notes, references, bibliography

PRINT: Look at the location and call number. Most Colby owned books related to literature can be found on the two bottom floors of the Miller Library book stacks. Order books from Bates, Bowdoin and the Colby Annex by clicking CBB Request in an item record.

DIGITAL: look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results . .

Or use the drop-downs on the CBBcat search page, for a more precise search.

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Hilary Baribeau
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Miller 007D
207-859-5162
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next