It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Literature between the Wars. (Part of IS 138).
Find Scholarly Articles
The Journal of Modern Literature is one of the many peer-reviewed journals indexed in Colby databases.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowThe Modern Language Association of America's database of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies covering scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, printing, publishing, rhetoric, and composition, with coverage from 1926 to the present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.modules, designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to chapters, books, websites, archives, or data sets.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowDatabase providing full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline.
report original research in a specific discipline
use in-text citations and bibliographies
typically contain peer-reviewed articles
are particularly important to academic research.
Look for options in databases to narrow results to scholarly peer-reviewed articles.
The date slider enables one to limit the results to a specific date range.
One can also change the sort function (top right) from "Relevance" (which can be imperfect in its determination) to "Date Newest"
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of AmericaRelied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021 Colby Miller 1st Floor Research Librarians Alcove Reference. Also Colby Miller 1st Floor Research Librarians Alcove
To find subject headings for an author, do a Subject Search using theauthor’s name (last name first): Baldwin, James(Select Subject from first drop-down option in CBBcat.)
Note that subjects which are authors can have the subject sub-division, Criticism and Interpretation.
Not very many search results? Look for broader subject headings in item records. Browse these areas in Miller Library's bookstacks. Books covering broader topics may include chapters or significant passages on the author you're interested in. Check a book's table of contents and index.
To find items by authors, do an Author Search (last name, first name).
ILLiad: Getting What Colby Doesn't Have
Not available in full-text? Request through ILLiad. Another library may be able to automatically send a PDF in just a few hours.
In databases, look for Request from ILLiad or Request from another library links when you are directed to a screen that says full-text is not available at Colby.
Libraries also scan book chapters into PDFs. If the book you want is not in CBBcat or if it is only in print and you need to access it digitally, use ILLiad to request a book chapter or two. (Copyright law won't allow the scanning of an entire book.) If you don't have chapter information, search the title of the book in Google Books. You may be able to see the Table of Contents by clicking "Preview."
Check References, Works Cited, Notes & Bibliographies
Check the works cited, notes, references and bibliographies of every relevant article or book. You may discover additional books or articles perfect for your topic.
Hafley, James Robert, 1928 - The Glass Roof: Virigina Woolf as a Novelist. Berkely: University fo California Press, 1954. (link to bibliography)
One good source can lead to another! Look for a Cited Work using:
Use "Cited by" in Google Scholar to Find More Sources
The CITED BY feature in GOOGLE SCHOLAR allows you to discover who else has cited a relevant article or book.
This can be particularly useful when you have a older article and want to find more up-to-date research.
Put the title in Google Scholar and click on Cited by at the bottom of the record. This is another way of following citation trails to find good sources.
Find Scholarly Books
Search for physical and digital books, films and other media in our library catalog.
A book of literary criticism can be by a single author or can be an edited anthology with chapters ("book articles") on different aspects of the book's general theme.
To identify SCHOLARLY BOOKS, investigate/examine the:
author (university affiliation, research specialty)
publisher (academic or university press)
writing style & intended audience
arguments, analysis, study methodology
notes, references, bibliography
PHYSICAL ITEMS: In a CBBcat item record, click on CBB Request to order books from Bates, Bowdoin or the Annex (with pickup at the Miller Service Desk). Use Call Numbers in an item record to browse the Miller Library bookstacks. You might discover nearby items that are not showing up in searches. Check the contents page and index of each item.
DIGITAL ITEMS: look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results .
Book by Lalena Jaramillo, 2011, Flickr(CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Credo General ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
HathiTrustThis link opens in a new windowA digital library containing assets from over 100 research libraries, with document types including books, images, images, music scores, newspapers, and videos. Use the yellow "Log In" button to find and select Colby College, then follow the login prompts.
OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. It should be used only for very precise searches.