Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 120: Medievalism

Searches

OneSearch searches for Books, Movies, and Articles...

Search the CBB Catalog for Books and Videos

Getting the Books
  • For books in Miller:
    • Look for the stacks plan beside the stairs.
  • For books at Bates, Bowdoin, or in Colby Storage:
    • How To : Requesting Books Through CBBcat
    • Click on the CBB Request button in the record for the book you want. Then fill in your name and the barcode number (no letters) on the back of your Colby ID card.

 

Search WorldCat:  Find in a library with WorldCat   for books worldwide

RESOURCES

Search Databases for articles

 Credo Reference ►

Authoritative sources for looking up incidental information

 

ArtStor ►

A database of images of art and architecture

Newspaper, magazine & journal articles:

►For a complete list of Colby's databases, Click here

►For 1-minute Videos on more resources and techniques ... Click here


CITATIONS IN BRIEF

RESEARCHING & READING

Subject headings to search in Colby's catalog:


St. George and the Dragon, Peter Paul Reubens; ca. 1605; 

Museo del Prado

John Everett Millais - Mariana - Google Art Project.jpg

 Mariana, John Everett Millais 1851

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Looking up background information first can save you time later - use Credo Reference 
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in MLA International BibliographyAcademic Search Complete and other databases at left
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications and media the information you want might be published in 

... and don't hesitate to come and ask me any questions you have!   kjgillum@colby.edu     Karen Gillum   Miller 107B


Searching Tips 

  • KEYWORD SEARCHING
    • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings:  femin*  = feminist, feminism, etc.
    • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase:  "gender roles" 
    • Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms:  (refugee OR migrant)
  • REFINE YOUR SEARCH
    • Use the various limiting parameters in sidebars of databases to narrow your search appropriately
    • Skim the terminology in entries for new keywords and synonyms to use in repeating your search
  • EXPAND YOUR SEARCH
    • On the EBSCO platform, click on the Choose Databases link near the top of the screen to add another subject database to your field of search

TYPES OF SOURCES

Recognizing scholarly articles:  

                  s

  • Author is affiliated with an academic institution
  • Most are peer reviewed
  • Bibliography at end of article
  • Notes or in-text citations 

 

  

Understanding Peer Review:

 Recognizing 'mainstream media'

  • Author is affiliated with a recognized newspaper, magazine, radio or television entity
  • Reference is made to independently verifiable facts, including statistics, statements by public figures, etc.
  • Editorial responsibility for fact-checking -- and re-checking when questions are raised

Blogs and social media

Enormous variety in this sphere!  Look twice!  Be careful! Consider the following:

  • Accuracy

Can you verify the information presented? 

  • Audience

Who is the intended audience?

  • Authority

What are the author's credentials? Google the author:  is the author/sponsor an academic?  a journalist? a political figure or their staff? an organization, a corporation, a government office or department? or a private individual? a private group or club?

  • Bias

Does the author offer evidence to support his/her assertions? Notice whether sources are cited!

Is the information over-simplified? Is the language emotionally charged? Remember that photographs and videos also are framed and selected with intention.

What is the author's intent? Examine the URL. Is the domain a .org, .net, .edu, .gov, or .com? Look for a page titled, About this site, or something similar, and consider what bias that domain might have.  In every case, you should assume some sort of bias and read, watch, or listen with alert critical attention. 

  • Currency

How is this source positioned within current conversation?

  • Depth

How deeply does the author explore the subject matter?

  • Relevance

What will this source add to your research?

Citing Sources

Use MLA style to create citations in the humanities

The purpose of citations is...

  • to show the research path someone took to develop an idea
  • to provide leads for other researchers 

You need to cite when...

  • you directly quote someone else
  • you refer to another person's ideas 
  • you outline someone else's argument 

EXAMPLE of MLA Style on a Works Cited Page for an article retrieved from a database:

             Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction, vol. 47, no. 3, 2006, pp. 261-73. MLA International Bibliography.  dx.doi.org/10.3200/CRIT.47.3.261-273Accessed 17 January 2013.

Thus the pattern is:

              Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, year, pp. #s . Name of database. [doi if available]. Accessed [day month year].

 

MORE EXAMPLES and explanations at Purdue's OWL site:   

         In-Text Citation Formatting


Annotated Bibliography

In general, the purpose of annotations is to inform a researcher consulting the bibliography on various aspects of the cited title. Some general directions are below; make sure also to consult directions for your class!

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography Cornell Creating Annotated BibliographyU. Library

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next