It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EN120 Writing as a Reader (Cook): Research Resources
Find Scholarly Articles
Use the MLA International Bibliography database to find literary criticism.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowThe Modern Language Association of America's database of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies covering scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, printing, publishing, rhetoric, and composition, with coverage from 1926 to the present.
REFINE YOUR RESULTS
Think about the publication DATE of your source. The date slider can be used to focus on more recent scholarship.
Or use the "Relevance" SORT drop-down in the top right to sort by "Date Newest"
Narrow results to SCHOLARLY PEER REVIEWED JOURNALS.
report original research in a specific discipline
use in-text citations and bibliographies
typically contain peer-reviewed articles
are particularly important to academic research.
Book articles (chapters in scholarly books can be another option for scholarly sources.
ILLiad: Getting What Colby Doesn't Have
Not available in full-text? Request through ILLiad. Another library may be able to send a PDF in just a few hours.
In databases, look for Request from ILLiad or Request from another library links when you are directed to a screen that says full-text is not available at Colby.
Libraries also scan book chapters into PDFs. If the book you want is not in CBBcat or if it is only in print and you need to access it digitally, use ILLiad to request a book chapter or two. (Copyright law won't allow the scanning of an entire book.) If you don't have chapter information, search the title of the book in Google Books. You may be able to see the Table of Contents by clicking "Preview."
In library catalogs and many databases, keyword searches only look for EXACT MATCHES.
Experiment with SYNONYMS and related terms.
To narrow results, try using QUOTATION MARKS to glue together words in phrases, titles or an author's name. "social roles"
An ASTERISK is a wild card that stands in for different endings of a word. passion*= passion, passions, passionate
Use AND between terms to narrow results to items containing both terms ("Duchess of Malfi" AND revenge)
Use OR between items (within parenthesis) widens results to items containing any one term (death OR dying)
Subject searches take you to books that have been tagged as being about that person or subject. Identify SUBJECT HEADINGS by checking the item records found in a keyword search.
To find subject headings for an author, do a Subject Search using theauthor’s name (last name first): Webster, John(Select Subject from first drop-down option in CBBcat.)
Note that subjects which are authors or literary works can have a subject sub-division focused on literary criticism.
Not very many search results? Look for broader subject headings in item records. Browse these areas in Miller Library's bookstacks. Books covering broader topics may include chapters or significant passages on the author you're interested in. Check a book's table of contents and index.
To find items by authors, do an Author Search (last name, first name).
Check References, Works Cited, Notes & Bibliographies
Check the works cited, notes, references and bibliographies of every relevant article or book. You may discover additional books or articles perfect for your topic.
Hafley, James Robert, 1928 - The Glass Roof: Virigina Woolf as a Novelist. Berkely: University fo California Press, 1954. (link to bibliography)
One good source can lead to another! Look for a Cited Work using:
Use "Cited by" in Google Scholar to Find More Sources
The CITED BY feature in GOOGLE SCHOLAR allows you to discover who else has cited a relevant article or book.
This can be particularly useful when you have a older article and want to find more up-to-date research.
Let's say you find the following article in a database search.
Pike, Judith E. “‘My Name Was Isabella Linton’ Couverture, Domestic Violence, and Mrs. Heathcliff’s Narrative in Wuthering Heights.” Nineteenth-Century Literature, vol. 64, no. 3, Dec. 2009, pp. 347–383
Put the title in Google Scholar and click on Cited by at the bottom of the record. That will take you to the records of the 35 works that cited this article.
Reference & Context
Book by Lalena Jaramillo, 2011, Flickr(CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Oxford English DictionaryThis link opens in a new windowThe full text online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains both the complete Second Edition and the New Edition in progress.
Credo General ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Cambridge CompanionsThis link opens in a new windowFrom Cambridge University Press, subject- and theme-based collections of content covering literature, philosophy, religion, classics, cultural studies, and music, written by experts in the fields. Now a part of Cambridge Core.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
British Periodicals CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowScanned versions of the full texts of over 500 British periodicals dating from the 17th century to the early 20th, with coverage of topics such as literature, science, and the arts.
HathiTrustThis link opens in a new windowA digital library containing assets from over 100 research libraries, with document types including books, images, images, music scores, newspapers, and videos. Use the yellow "Log In" button to find and select Colby College, then follow the login prompts.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new window"Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture—both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and a massive explosion of written material that dwarfed the output of the centuries that preceded it."
Find Books in Our Library Catalog
Search for physical and digital books, films and other media in our library catalog.
A book of literary criticism can be by a single author or can be an edited anthology with chapters ("book articles") on different aspects of the book's general theme.
To identify SCHOLARLY BOOKS, investigate/examine the:
author (university affiliation, research specialty)
publisher (academic or university press)
writing style & intended audience
arguments, analysis, study methodology
notes, references, bibliography
PRINT: Look at the location and call number. Most Colby owned books related to literature can be found on the two bottom floors of the Miller Library book stacks. Order books from Bates, Bowdoin and the Colby Annex by clicking CBB Request in an item record.
DIGITAL: look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results . .