It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EN 120A Styles of Persuasion (Hanlon): Research Resources
Find Articles in Databases
MLA International BibliographyThe Modern Language Association of America's database of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies covering scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, printing, publishing, rhetoric, and composition, with coverage from 1926 to the present.
Project MUSEProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.modules, designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to chapters, books, websites, archives, or data sets.
JSTORFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes many scholarly journals, theses, books, and white papers from academic and society publishers. It also indexes patents and some case law.
Databases may contain both articles from scholarly journals and articles from popular publications. Use type of publication filters to more easily compare results.
are important in college level research
are written by and for scholars
publish scholarly work in a specific discipline
use citations/bibliographies to give attribution and provide evidence
typically contain peer-reviewed articles (the gold standard)
Look for database options to limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed articles:
MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS
Newsstand publications can offer a more accessible approach. Depending on the publication and the author, articles may also include thoughtful arguments and analysis.
Besides searching databases, one can search within specific publications separately. Some examples...
New York Times 1980 to Current"This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history."
Experiment with different search combinations, using synonyms and related terms.
Use an asterisk to stand in for multiple word endings: narrat* = narrator, narrative, narrate, narrates
Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase: "stream of consciousness"
Use AND between terms to narrow results to items containing both terms: writing AND dialogue
Using OR between items (within parenthesis) widens results: ("first-person" OR "point of view")
Combine terms to build search strings.
Find an item of interest using a keyword search? Look at its item record to identify Subject Terms. These links group material together by topic which can yield more precise results. Sample subject headings:
Books at Colby? Look at the location and call number in any item record. Service desk personnel can help you locate an item.
Books at the Colby Storage Facility, Bates or Bowdoin? To order, click
Enter your name and bar code number (omit beginning and ending letters) from your Student ID or Library Card. You will be notified by email when your request is available to pickup at the Miller Service Desk.
Not finding what you want in CBBcat or MaineCat? Check WorldCatand order through ILLIAD our interlibrary loan service.