Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*ENGLISH & WRITING: Start Here!

This guide gives you tips and resources for research papers and other information gathering projects.

Use Databases to Find Articles

Scholarly Journals

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

  Look for options in databases to limit results to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

More About MLA


Photo: Old Textures by Tom Woodward

MLA International Bibliography   

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format 

2. Set search limits before you begin searching 

3. Try using Names as Subjects and add terms from critical vocabulary

4. Further refine your search by adding Subject Terms

Contemporary Reception Articles from 19th Century & Early 20th Century Periodicals

 

Title page of The Athenaeum, 1846, a British literary journal. The Athenaeum is searchable thru the British Periodicals database. Photo from The Library of Congress

OneSearch

ONE SEARCH
Searches multiple resources at once.

Use for very precise searches:

  • Finding a specific article
  • Finding book chapters on a topic
  • Narrow, interdisciplinary subjects

For best results, use limiters:  field drop-downs (Title, Publication Title), content type (articles, book chapters, book reviews), etc.

For topical searches, first consult CBBcat and individual databases.

ENGLISH RESEARCH GUIDE

Photo: Silent and Still by Jessica Neuwerth

Search Tips

KEYWORD SEARCH

Databases and catalogs may only find the exact combination of letters entered.

  1. Try a VARIETY OF SEARCH TERMS, synonyms and word combinations
  2. Use an ASTERISK to stand in for different word endings (critic* = criticism, critical, critic, etc.)
  3. Use QUOTATION MARKS to "glue together" a phrase ("stream of consciousness")
  4. Use AND between terms to narrow results to items containing both terms (Didion AND place)
  5. Use OR between items (within parenthesis) to widen results to items containing any one term (death OR dying)
  6. SCAN RESULTS FOR MORE SEARCH TERMS

SUBJECT SEARCH

Keyword searches are not looking for meaning and thus can miss important works in a field. Look at Subject Terms in item records to find items grouped by topic.

In CBBcat, subject sub-divisions can be helpful in focusing your research.

TYPE OF SEARCH

Use the drop-down menus to choose type of search.

To find items BY authors, do an Author Search (last name, first name).

To find items ABOUT authors, do a Subject Search (last name, first name).

LITERARY CRITICISM

Keyword Search: "author's name" AND critic*" ("Natalia Ginzburg" AND critic*)

Subject Search: "author's last name, first name" (Woolf, Virginia)
Look for the sub-division: Criticism and interpretation

Following a Citation Trail

Check the WORKS CITED, NOTES, REFERENCES and BIBLIOGRAPHIES of every relevant article or book. You may discover another book or article perfect for your topic.

sample citations

Hafley, James Robert, 1928 - The Glass Roof: Virigina Woolf as a Novelist. Berkely: University fo California Press, 1954. (link to bibliography)

One good source can lead to another!
 

Look for a Cited Work using:

  • OneSearch (articles)
  • Google Scholar (also check Cited By" in Google Scholar)
  • CBBcat (books, media available through Colby)
  • MaineCat (books, media available from other Maine academic and public libraries)
  • Hathi Trust (sometimes has full-text digital versions of older books or articles)
  • WorldCat (if can't find resource locally)

MLA Citation Help

Older editions of the MLA handbook are also available. Many databases still use the 7th edition.  OWL uses the 8th edition. Note the differences! Be consistent.

MLA 7th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies 42.2 (2001): 19-43. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 19 Jan. 2017.

MLA 8th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies, vol. 42, no. 2, 2001, pp. 19-43. EBSCO, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40643250. Accessed 19 Jan. 2017.

Find Books

CBBcat, the library catalog, logo image

Search for physical and digital books, films and other media in our library catalog.

To identify SCHOLARLY BOOKS, investigate/examine the:

  • author (university affiliation, research specialty)
  • publisher (academic or university press)
  • writing style & intended audience
  • arguments, analysis, study methodology
  • notes, references, bibliography

REMOTE LEARNING: look for a small circular red E in the icons to the left of your results . These are online resources.

Or use the drop-downs on the CBBcat search page, for a more precise search.

ON CAMPUS: Order books for Miller pickup by clicking CBB Request in an item record.

Miller Library bookstacks are also physically accessible when the library is open. Most literary works are on the two lower levels (S1 & S2).

Print books ordered from Bates, Bowdoin or other Maine libraries will take longer than usual to receive due to material quarantine protocols.

BOOK CHAPTERS THRU ILLIAD: A digital alternative is to click on Colby ILL in the right pane of CBBcat results and use the "Book Chapter" form to request a PDF of a chapter or two (copyright law limits amount copied). You will get an email with a link.

Tip: Google Books may have more info on a book's contents.

Reference Sources

Reference sources can provide definitions, terminology, facts, background information, context, biographies, interpretations, and bibliographies.

Book 8, by Brenda Clark, at https://www.flickr.com/photos/brenda-starr/5076790282

Ask for Help!

For questions big or small, we're happy to meet with you.
  

Laine Thielstrom

Working remotely 2020-2021

esthiels@colby.edu


  

Karen Gillum

Miller 107

kjgillum@colby.edu

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next