It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Chicago Manual of Style (2017) by University of Chicago Press Editorial StaffTechnologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
For more information about citing images, see the library guide CITING IMAGES
Citation software managers (such as Zotero and RefWorks) can help you gather, organize and store citations. They can also automatically create bibliographies! For more information, see CITATION SOFTWARE
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage from 1887-present, current chapter and book coverage from 1987-present.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research in the sciences.
Please note: there are problems with the Scopus service. Full-text links and exports to some citation managers are not working. A workaround to get the full text is to copy and paste the article title into ONE SEARCH on the library home page, and you'll be able to access the full text.
PubMedComprehensive medical database of citations to the biomedical literature that includes MEDLINE, in addition to other health databases funded by NIH.
An online legal research tool providing full-text access to federal and state court cases , laws, statutes, and regulations, legal encyclopedias, law reviews and journals, and European Union legal materials.