Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Books: Finding E-books

E-books can be accessed from anywhere using your Colby ID & Password or Colby's VPN

E-Books in the Library Catalog

START HERE. SEARCH FOR E-BOOKS IN OUR LIBRARY CATALOG.

Many of our e-books (but not all) have linked records in CBBcat, our library catalog. 

CBBcat, the library catalog, logo image

Search by title, author or keyword, but be sure and change the 2nd drop-down menu to: e-books.

search box w/ ebooks selected in drop-down menu (CBBcat can also be accessed from the Colby Libraries home page by moving the orange bar to Books & More OR by clicking on the books icon in the lower right of the home page.)

Sample CBBcat E-book Search

TOPIC: Peru mining

SEARCH CBBcat 

Change 2nd-drop down menu to E-books

Search box. Keywords: Peru Mining. 2nd drop-down: e-books

CBBcat RESULTS LIST

CBBcat search result #1, "New Extractivism"

OPEN RECORD and click COLBY ACCESS

Colby Access text in CBBcat record

CLICK E-BOOK COLLECTION LINK

Colby Library ebook record w/ link to Ebook Central database

YOUR E-BOOK!

Ebook Central record for book "New Extractivisim"

Questions? Need Help!

Use our Ask Us service for access problems or general questions.

Or email ask@colby.libanswers.com

For help in doing research (exploring a topic, brainstorming search terms, identifying resources, finding and evaluating sources, citing sources, etc.), please don't hesitate to reach out to a research librarian.

Librarians meet with students, faculty and staff via emails, Google Hangouts Chat, Google Meet, Zoom, etc.

We would love to hear from you!

E-Book Collections

OR BROWSE OUR E-BOOK COLLECTIONS

 COLBY COLLEGE A-Z DATABASES

In the middle drop-down, choose E-book Collections. Browse to find collections in your subject area.

MAJOR INTERDISCIPLINARY E-BOOK COLLECTIONS

Look for Use Details in E-Book Records

  • E-books make a text easy to access, download, highlight, and cite.
  • E-books can be accessed anywhere with a Colby login.
  • But rules of access and usage can vary by publisher! Look for details within each book's item record.

The Ebrary title Global Justice: The Basics

Check out this guide's second tab, Using E-Books, for more information.

Video Tutorials: Finding E-books

To play videos, FIRST click on arrow in upper right corner, then start the recording.

Finding e-books in CBBcat

Finding e-books via e-book collections listed on Colby's A-Z database page.

E-books on the Web

E-books can sometimes be found on the web. Some access is only temporary during this crisis.

HATHI TRUST UPDATE: ENHANCED ACCESS

Hathi Trust provides access to a wealth of public domain books, but Colby has now been approved for wider access in a very limited ETA (emergency temporary access) program. This allows staff, faculty, and students to access/check out one copy of Colby print monographs that have been digitized by Hathi

If the book has by digitized by Hathi, you will see a “Temporary Access” option. This is available only to Colby students, faculty and staff.

“Temporary Access” books can be read only online. You can download one page at a time. You can’t download the whole book. You can check out a book for 1 hour. Your access will renew automatically at the end of that hour, unless another user requests the book.

Example: https://cbbcat.net/record=b1214333~S7
Search for this title in HathiTrust Advanced Full-Text Search.

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next