Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH IF YOU'RE REMOTE
On the Libraries' home page check
. REMOTE ACCESS Make sure you have
set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the OKTA OKTA link first.)
Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are . here
Use CBBCAT to find EBOOKS
To look for E-Books, change Entire CBB Collection to E-Books .
Country and Regional Information
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
British and American government documents plus missionaries' journals are primary sources on relations between East Asia and the West during the 19th century.
ATLA Religion Database
Religious and theological literature, including world religions and social issues. Articles from 1949 to the present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Coverage of East, Southeast, and South Asia works in western languages; focus on the humanities and the social sciences.
Includes economic theory and history, labor economics, international, regional, and urban economics.
World history from 1450 to the present, including abstracts of articles from 2000 journals.
Japanese books in Hathi Trust
Books in the Keio University Library now available in digital form through Hathi Trust. More than half are accessible in full-text; the remainder are searchable, with limited access to the text.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, language, folklore, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing, as well as rhetoric and composition. 1926-present.
China Data Online Census Data This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics from China, including development, province/county/city population and economy, and financial indicators, plus census data, surveys, and an atlas of China.
China Academic Journals Note that we subscribe to Series F only.
/ Si ku quan shu ( 四庫全書 Four Treasures) Note: this link allows you to download the client. Once you are in the program, select: IP Login
Broad spectrum databases:
- very broad coverage of the Humanities, but lacking the latest 5 years JSTOR
- smaller, but up-to-date Project Muse
- includes popular magazines & newspapere Academic Source Complete
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo