It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A master gateway to important databases for arts research, "Arts," from Proquest, includes full text content from Arts & Humanities Full Text, British Periodicals Collection, Dissertation and Theses Full Text, Music Periodicals Database, Performing Arts Database, and New York Times.
An open source international database of completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Updated periodically throughout the academic year.
From Oxford University Press, this is the most complete reference work devoted exclusively to popular music. Published in 2006, it is dated. Coverage includes jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Also in print in Bixler Library Reference (with accompanying CDs), MUSIC REF ML100 .G16 1998.
Trend pop artists and music industry data, with this online portal to Billboard charts and international pop music charts. Analytical tools interpret, graph, analyse, compare musical trends in place and time. Link to selective popular music journals for more in-depth research.
Music Online is a cross searchable platform to a huge streaming music database, classical scores, and basic reference sources for background on musicians and styles: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
A comprehensive full text music journal database, international in scope, covering classical, world, and popular music. It provides access to more than 770,000 articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular, with various tools for honing search and exporting results.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (Music) is a scholar-curated library of key music bibliographic review modules, designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to chapters, books, websites, archives, or data.
By Richard Taruskin. The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time.
Oxford Music Online is a cross-searchable interface to the full text and new updates to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition, 2002), and the New Grove Dictionary of American Music.
This is the main scholarly database and index to the literature of music, with broad international coverage of Western and Eastern classical, pop, folk, and jazz music, as well as interdisciplinary studies on music. Includes abstracts and citations drawn from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festschriften, iconographies, and reviews complete works, ethnographic recordings, videos, reviews, etc. Coverage: 1967 - present
Provides citations to reviews, biographical studies and musical life from journals of the nineteenth century. A fundamental resource for the history of Romantic Music. Updated every six months. Coverage: 1800-1950
Scholarly and international in scope, RISM is a searchable database of more than 370,000 works in manuscript form by over 18,000 composers created between 1600 and 1800. It can be searched with RILM and RIPM simultaneously. Coverage: 1600 - 1850