It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor has over 500,000 high-quality digital images, licensed for educational use, from all periods and world cultures, including architecture, painting, prints, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and more. Create image groups, download images, and more. Colby login required.
The Bridgeman Education website is an extensive visual image database covering all media (painting, photography, engravings, sculpture, architecture, archaeology and ethnography, history, science and medicine, the decorative arts, artifacts, and applied arts.) It supports the use of high-quality images for teaching, research or reference.
Images from the Colby College Libraries' Colbiana collection, primarily comprising digitized historical photographs. Highlights include views of Colby's first campus in downtown Waterville and the construction of the current campus on Mayflower Hill.
Colby College's multidisciplinary digital image library for teaching and research. Subjects include art, East Asian studies, history, anthropology, American and African-American studies, classics, and other humanities and social sciences-related content.
Film library and streaming service. Providers include PBS, the Criterion Collection, Green Planet, Kino Lorber, HBO, California Newsreel, Russian Cinema Council, First Run Features, and Documentary Educational Resources.
Find articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals dating back to 1954; link to full text articles if owned by Colby
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Publications include Literary World (1847-1853), The Critic: a Weekly Review of Literature and the Arts (1886-1898), Littell’s Living Age (1844-1896), The Dial; a Semi-monthly Journal of Literary Criticism, Discussion, and Information (1880-1929) and many other magazines and journals.
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with frequent updates. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ESSENTIAL. Comprises American Periodicals, ARTbibliographies Modern, Arts & Humanities Full Text, British Periodicals, Design and Applied Arts Index, Dissertation Abstracts, International Bibliography of Art, IIMP, IIPA.
A pilot project of Yale University Press, this interactive site provides full-text access to a wide variety backlist book titles in art and architecture from important university presses and museum publishers. The educational experience is furthered by features such as interactive course packs.
From the Getty Research Institute, a comprehensive index (1975-2007) to art books, periodical articles, essays on art, conference proceedings, & dissertations. International in scope, covering all historical periods and cultures. Includes abstracts.
Search for brief entries in reliable reference sources: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, as well as subject-specific titles covering various topics including the arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science and technology.
Description Covers works written about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world in Africa, Asia, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Included are journals, multi-authored works, monographs and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1906-
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals offers essential information on artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration and collecting, making it an invaluable resource for art history research.
Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art and a companion database to ARTbibliographies Modern, this new database continues indexing and abstracting of scholarly publications (books, articles, essays, etc.) in all the visual arts from all historical periods in a world context.
The IMB database comprises records deriving from articles published in journals and in conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues published world-wide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
ESSENTIAL. JSTOR is an archive of thousands of leading scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes images, and is interlinked by citations and references. All articles download to PDF. Current issues are not available, however, for many titles.
ESSENTIAL. This comprehensive, online art encyclopedia is the best place to start your research on an artist or topic. It is a cross-searchable interface to the full text and new updates to The Grove Dictionary of Art (1996), The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998) and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA) contains indexing from more than 395 journal titles – over 160 of which are available in full text - including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Fine tune your search using a controlled index term or full-text searching, with information from popular and scholarly performing arts journals.
Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Particularly strong in performance, feminist, literary, gender, and black studies, and contemporary issues in general.
Records in SCIPIO contain information on dates and places of sale, catalog title, the auction house, sellers, institutional holdings and more. The records include many indexed terms, including: auction house name; title information; date of sale; sale code; place of sale; collector or seller name(s); name(s) of individual auctioneer(s); subject heading(s); and Lugt, Lancour, Blogie and other citation numbers.