It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LA/HI 398 The Cold War in Latin America: Key Resources
Places and tools to find articles, books and archival sources. Spring 2020
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)The primary database for U.S.-Hispanic and Latin American topics, citing articles published in English and European languages from more than 400 scholarly journals worldwide.
America History and LifeArticle abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.
JSTORFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Put the title of a book or article in Google Scholar to find out who and how many other scholars have cited it. Look for the Cited By links on the results page. This is a good way to find additional sources.
Note the type of publication an article is in.
* Scholarly journals, especially peer-reviewed journals, are where faculty publish their research. * Magazines can provide popular perspectives or alternative voices. * Newspapers can offer the most current information or as primary sources show attitudes and feelings of a certain time.
Look for options in databases to limit your resultsto articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Articles in scholarly journals, especially when PEER-REVIEWED are particularly important to academic research. They:
provide in-depth analysis or report original research
The Chicago Manual of StyleThis 2017 edition of the guide has updated information on PDF annotation, citation management, and effective use of keywords. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language.
Publication Date: 2017
Citation managers help you organize your research, collect citations & automatically create bibliographies.
OneSearch searches multiple resources at once.Use for very precise searches:
Finding a specific article
Finding book chapters on a writer or an artistic work
Finding book reviews
For best results, use limiters.
Need to use these resources off campus?
Off-campus users will often be able to gain access to Colby Library resources using their Colby ID and password.. But for the most reliable access, install VPN (Virtual Private Network)on your computer or device. This fools your device into thinking you're on campus! (You may also need to click on the VPN app icon every time you sign in.)
Remembrance Wall, Argentina
Photo: Remembrance Wall, Argentina by Linda De Volder (Flickr CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Digital National Security ArchiveA collection of declassified documents on US foreign and military policy since 1945. Included are presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, confidential letters, emails, and other secret material.
A digital library containing assets from over 100 research libraries, with document types including books, images, images, music scores, newspapers, and videos. Use the yellow "Log In" button to find and select Colby College, then follow the login prompts.
Digitized articles from five major U.S. newspapers dating back to the 18th century -- includes the Boston Globe (1872-1982), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), the New York Times (1851-2009), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and the Washington Post (1877-1997).
Full-text database of periodicals of the American ethnic and minority press, with works offering African-American, Arab-American, Asian-American, European-American, Latino, Jewish, and Native American perspectives.
Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978-1990From the Digital National Security Archive, U.S. government documents on the Nicaraguan diplomatic, political, paramilitary and economic developments that shaped U.S. policy toward the country through the 1980s.
The Cambridge History of Latin America (1995) by Leslie Bethell (Editor)The second part of Volume 6 of The Cambridge History of Latin America examines the military in Latin American politics; democracy; the Left; labour movements and the urban working class; rural mobilisation and violence. It also takes a look at the role of women in twentieth-century Latin American economy, society, and politics. The volume finishes with a discussion of the actions and importance of the Catholic and Protestant churches.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (2001)This revised version has been expanded with 44 new essays, all written by respected post-Cold War scholars who bring the latest perspectives to their topics. General category coverage includes concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control.
Credo General ReferenceA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Congress.govThe official search engine of U.S. federal legislative information, including current legislation, the Congressional Record, information on members, and committee reports.
U.S. Congressional Serial SetDatabase of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of over 12 million pages. Database searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.