Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classics: CL 149

This page brings together important resources for various branches of study in classical antiquity.

Basic Tools

To Use Colby Databases off campus, first sign into VPN


Directions on signing up for ILL

Core Databases

l'Annee Philologique

How to use L'Année Philologique

  1. Search Keywords in top box; combine with ancient Author in bottom box if desired
  2. Choose relevant title 
  3. Copy title into OneSearch
  4. Select correct listing
  5. If title is unavailable, you can request it through ILLiad (include page numbers, found on L'Année after book or journal title)

Video Guide

Brill's New Pauly

Gnomon

JSTOR

Humanities International Index

Livius

Oxford Classical Dictionary

Project Muse

Artstor

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae

Loeb Classical Library

 

CBBcat

   Search for books by Keyword, Author, Title, or by a Subject such as Funeral rites and ceremonies, Ancient

Directions for Requesting through CBBcat

 Worldcat

 

 

 

 

...

If You're Looking for...

Roman tombs:

look for books in CBBcat, searching tombs Rome and filtering for Colby > Miller

look for images in Artstor

American tombstones:

look in Farber Gravestone Collection

Information about ancient tombs and the people they honor:

look in Brill's New Pauly or Oxford Classical Dictionary, and Credo or Wikipedia, and the Worldwide Web - with caution!

look also in primary (ancient) sources using Perseus or Loeb Classical Library (see video in left column)

for maps, look in Atlas of Classical History (ebook) or search the web for Images - with caution

Information about American gravestones:

look for books in CBBcat, searching American  and gravestones  or cemeteries

Information about people commemorated by American gravestones:

look in Ancestry Library and for obituaries in databases of American historical newspapers

Searching the Web

Be sceptical! For every site you find, ask these questions:

  • Who made it? Look at the URL and look up credentials of the person or organization responsible.
  • When was it posted? Look for a date in the body of the screen or at the bottom.
  • Does it include citations of ancient sources? Or modern scholarship?
  • Try using Google Advanced Search and choose domain = .edu ( in the lower set of search boxes)
  • If appropriate, add museum to your search string
  • When you find books through internet searches, look up the title in CBBcat
  • When you find articles cited through internet searches, look up the title in OneSearch

 

Librarian for Classics

 

Karen Gillum,
Librarian

kjgillum@colby.edu                    

REMOTE RESEARCH

RESEARCH IF YOU'RE REMOTE

  • On the Libraries' home page check REMOTE ACCESS.
  • Make sure you have OKTA set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the OKTA link first.)
  • Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are here.

Use CBBCAT to find EBOOKS

To look for E-Books, change Entire CBB Collection to E-Books

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next