Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides to Individual Authors:
When Keyword Searching:
Experiment with synonyms,
Use asterisks to search for multiple word-forms at once: Literature* = Literature, Literary, Literaries
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase: " Western experience"
Try searching the CBB catalog for
Companion or Handbook and an author's name: Companion Shakespeare
Companions can be very helpful in getting oriented to a new area of study.
MLA STYLE FOR CITATIONS
The purpose of citations:
to show the research path followed
to provide leads for other researchers
You need to cite them when:
you directly quote someone else
you refer to another person's ideas
you outline someone else's argument
Links to helpful Citation guides:
"The Tempest" Act 1, Scene 2, William Hogarth, Nostell Priory
Steps in Your Research
As you read your initial text, consider what information would put the writing in context and give you a fuller understanding of it.
Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in
Look up background information in the reference materials, e.g., Credo Reference, encyclopedias, atlases and histories, etc.
For Background Information Look in:
Scribner Writers - For essays on authors and literary genres; can be searched for a particular word or phrase or by category, including gender, genre, language, time period, nationality, and ethnicity.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography For biographical essays on prominent Britons in every field, who have completed their lives
- Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism a searchable ebook for reference
J ohns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism - presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements, including critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods
Continue your research using terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in:
- MLA Bibliography For articles specifically on literature by modern scholars.
- JSTOR A collection of scholarly journals, many embargoed for the most current 5 years.
British Periodicals Collections - British periodicals from the 17th to 20th centuries on Science, Art, and Literature
- Early English Books Online EEBO
Eighteenth Century Collections Online, includes pamphlets and other ephemera ECCO -
- survey of current publications related to film scholarship Screen Studies Collection
- Literature Resource Center Includes "Overviews" of works, to the level of (well-known) poems, with history of appearance and critical appraisal.
Complete list of databases
Always pay attention to vocabulary in records as you try a variety of approaches.
Ask your librarian! Karen Gillum firstname.lastname@example.org Miller 107B
Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
Directions on signing up for ILL
For books individual writers, search CBBcat by by Author, typing in the family name first.
For books individual writers, search using their names as about Subject, e.g.:
A few subject headings for books on ...
For videos, change " Search Entire CBB" to
REQUESTING CBB BOOKS [CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE]
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo