It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover and interact with important art and architectural images in the context of art history and art scholarship, with deep tagging on images and text, a robust image search that directs users toward relevant publications.
Search millions of images on the Web! You can limit your search on the Advanced Image Search page by size (small, medium, or large) color, filetypes (.jpg, .gif, .png) and by domains (.edu , .gov, .org, etc).
The Museum collection contains over one thousand artefacts and artworks and spans over one thousand years of history. The objects – in ceramic, metalwork, ivory, stone and wood, textile and carpet, glass and rock crystal objects, parchment and illustrated paintings on paper – present an overview of the artistic accomplishments of Muslim civilisations from the Iberian Peninsula to China.
Archnet is an authoritative open access image repository, and a tool for teaching and learning about architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim societies, past, and present. Archnet is a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture (AKTC) and the Aga Khan Documentation Center, MIT Libraries (AKDC@MIT).
The new galleries of the Department of Islamic Art opened to the public on September 22, 2012. Some 3,000 objects are on display, spanning 1,300 years of history and three continents, from Spain to Southeast Asia.
Visual record of the late years of the Ottoman Empire and the formation and early years of the Republic of Turkey. The collection focuses on cultural and urban images, mainly of Constantinople (Istanbul), the capital of the Ottoman Empire, but other geographic areas, such as the Balkans, and other cities and towns within the empire such as Bursa and Smyrna (İzmir) are included, as are a few images from places such as Greece, Egypt, Jerusalem, India and China.
This website is conceived as a companion to the Islamic galleries at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Intended as a general introduction to Islamic art, it draws upon examples from the museum’s comprehensive collection, which includes works from an area extending from southern Spain to Central Asia, ranging in date from the seventh century up to the present day.
The Islamic Collections are internationally renowned for the overall high quality and scope of the material. The manuscripts range in date from the eighth century to the early years of the twentieth century, primarily from the Arab world, Iran, Turkey and India, and include some of the greatest documents of Islamic art and culture.
The V&A holds over 19,000 items from the Middle East and North Africa, ranging from the early Islamic period (the 7th century) to the early 20th century. The collections include holdings of metalwork, ceramics, architectural woodwork and textiles, in particular from Iran, and also from Turkey, Egypt, Iraq, Syria and the countries of North Africa..
Search and view over 12,000 objects from the Metropolitan Museum's collection of Islamic art, which ranges in date from the seventh to the nineteenth century and reflects the great diversity and range of Islamic culture.