It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, including those from The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture, as well as chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.
This comprehensive, online art encyclopedia is the best place to start your research on an artist or topic. It is a cross-searchable interface to the full text and new updates to The Grove Dictionary of Art (1996), The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998) and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Oxford Bibliographies Online is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information by directing them to chapters, books, websites, archives, or data sets.
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Heilburnn Timeline is a comprehensive chronological exploration of art history. The Birth of Islam has historical essays, images from the Met Museum, and a bibliography to further research. Authored by the curators of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
The Companion represents recent developments in the field and provide fresh perspectives on canonical subjects, such as early Islamic art, sacred spaces, palaces, urbanism. The two volumes include periods and regions typically excluded from survey books including modern and contemporary art-architecture; China, Indonesia, Sub-Saharan Africa, Sicily, the New World (Americas).
Online content is included in Oxford Islamic Studies Center Online, also on this guide. The most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.