It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professor: Dr. Erik Reardon. Spring 2020. Course previously taught as HI 397.
America History and LifeArticle abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.
Environment CompleteFull text of journals and monographs in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, and environmental technology and law.
GreenFILEIndexing and abstracts of government, scholarly, and general-interest publications relating to human impact on the environment, with full-text access to many resources. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
JSTORFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
PAIS IndexThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
Note the type of publication an article is in.
* Scholarly journals are important sources in academic work. * Magazines can provide popular perspectives or alternative voices. * Newspapers can offer the most current information or be used as primary sources for a time and place.
Articles in scholarly journals, especially when PEER-REVIEWED are particularly important to academic research. They:
provide in-depth analysis or report original research
use in-text citations and bibliographies
are written by and for scholars
Look for options in databases to limit your resultsto articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Follow Citation Trails
Search the titles of good sources (both articles and books) in Google Scholar or Scopus. Look for the Cited by link to see who has cited that source after its publication.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes many scholarly journals, theses, books, and white papers from academic and society publishers. It also indexes patents and some case law.
ScopusThe largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Please note: there are problems with the Scopus service. Full-text links and exports to some citation managers are not working. A workaround to get the full text is to copy and paste the article title into ONE SEARCH on the library home page, and you'll be able to access the full text.
The Chicago Manual of StyleThis 2017 edition of the guide has updated information on PDF annotation, citation management, and effective use of keywords. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language.
Publication Date: 2017
Citation managers help you organize your research, collect citations & automatically create bibliographies.
Find other digitized primary source material: Do a Google search for your topic or person and add these words and phrases:
"oral histories" or "oral history"
papers (use in quotations with person's name, e.g. "John Muir Papers"
For a more precise search, from the Google results, click on: Settings > Advanced Search
You can then narrow your search by entering .edu or .gov or .org in the Site or Domain box
Use an asteriskto search all endings of a word: ecolog* = ecology, ecological
Use quotesto glue together a phrase: "Earth First"
Put synonyms in parentheses with OR between each term: (preserv* OR conserv*)
As you find material, scan for alternative search terms in item records and references, and then try new searches.
Start with a keyword search and look for subject headings links in item records. Sample LOC subjects in CBBcat:
Conservation of natural resources -- United States -- History
Environmental degradation -- History
Environmental management -- United States
Environmental policy -- United States -- History
Environmental protection -- United States -- History
Environmentalism -- United States -- History
Global warming -- History
Pinchot, Gifford, 1865-1946 – Philosophy
Thoreau, Henry David, 1817-1862 -- Philosophy
United States. National Park Service
Need to use these resources off campus?
You can automatically access Colby Library resources on-campus. Off-campus, Colby licensed resources will ask you to authenticate with your Colby ID and password, but this doesn't always work.
For more reliable access, use Colby's VPN (Virtual Private Network). You can install the Pulse Secure app on your computer or device. Then just click on the Pulse Secure icon whenever you sign in. This fools your device into thinking you're on campus!
Credo General ReferenceA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesAn online edition of the reference work from Cambridge University Press, with historical U.S. Census Bureau data on population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History (2010) by Kathleen A. BrosnanThe Impact of Human-Environmental Interactions. From the Columbian Exchange beginning in 1492, the development of slavery as a Southern institution, and the westward movement to the dust bowl, the Endangered Species Act, and the destruction caused by the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, human interaction with the environment in America has been continuous, open-ended, and dynamic. How communities and individuals have used land, water, and natural resources has profoundly shaped U.S. history, influencing settlement patterns, social relations, cultural life, economic systems, and political institutions. In the past generation, scholars have examined these human-environmental interactions in myriad ways, giving birth to the exciting, new field of environmental history. By shedding light on new issues and recasting familiar views of major events and developments in our nation's past, environmental historians have reinterpreted American history in a way that is gripping, immediate, and timely. Definitive Coverage of Every Aspect of Environmental History The essential reference to this critical topic and the only work of its kind, the four-volume Encyclopedia of American Environmental History begins with eight broad thematic essays, which highlight the major issues and topics in environmental history and serve as an entryway to other, more specific articles throughout the reference. Arranged alphabetically, more than 750 articles cover every significant issue, event, law, and figure in U.S. environmental history. All articles are written and signed by leading environmental historians, scholars, and experts, many of them members of the American Society for Environmental History (ASEH). The Board of Advisers is composed of a wide array of distinguished historians, and many of them are ASEH founders and members. Useful reference features include 200 illustrations, 100 original documents, 80 maps, 20 charts, a master chronology, bibliography, and an index.
Encyclopedia of the Environment in American Literature (2013) by Geoff Hamilton, Brian Jones (Editors)This encyclopedia introduces readers to American poetry, fiction and nonfiction with a focus on the environment (broadly defined as humanity's natural surroundings), from the discovery of America through the present. The work includes biographical and literary entries on material from early explorers and colonists such as Columbus, Bartolome de Las Casas and Thomas Harriot; Native American creation myths; canonical 18th- and 19th-century works of Jefferson, Emerson, Thoreau, Whitman, Hawthorne, Twain, Dickinson and others; to more recent figures such as Jack London, Ernest Hemingway, Norman Mailer, Stanley Cavell, Rachel Carson, Jon Krakauer and Al Gore. It is meant to provide a synoptic appreciation of how the very concept of the environment has changed over the past five centuries, offering both a general introduction to the topic and a valuable resource for high school and university courses focused on environmental issues.
Academic Video Online: PremiumAcademic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a comprehensive video library. It delivers more than 62,000 multidisciplinary video titles including 17,000 exclusive to Alexander Street. The collection offers documentaries, films, and demonstrations along with other content types covering a wide range of subjects.