Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources on Race in the Middle Ages
This deeply annotated bibliography contains sections of background, critical, and primary sources on various writers and sub-topics. Part of a larger blog for teaching the medieval period.
Race & Medieval Studies: A Partial Bibliography
This list includes blog posts and journal essays, as well as books and article collections
Investigate drdarkage and #medievalismstudies on Twitter
- Surrey Medieval This blog includes an annotated set of links revealing the intense scholarly interest in these issues right now.
Medieval Islamic Philosophy and Theology - From Catholic University of America, annual bibliographies of work
General Online Resources
- a freely available online journal The Public Medievalist
Caravan on Silk Road, from Catalan Atlas, 14th c.; in Bib.Natl. de France Colombus Notes on Marco Polo's Livre des Merveilles, 15th c.; in Biblioteca Colombina, Sevilla
Research Librarian: Karen Gillum kjgillum @colby.edu Contact me at any time!
Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
- for readily available books
- search catalogs of libraries worldwide WorldCat
- includes rare materials that may not be available elsewhere. Note that these may be on microfilm Center for Research Libraries
Directions on signing up for ILL
More ways to search:
by Author , typing in the family name first.
by writer as Subject , e.g.:
Look for more Subject lines in catalog records and use them to branch out to more topics, e.g.:
Keyword Searching Tips- -
Experiment with synonyms
Use asterisks to search for multiple word-forms at once: = Poet, Poetry, Poetic, Poets Poet*
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase: "Travel writing"
Try searching the CBB catalog for or Companion and your keyword. Like this: Handbook . Companion medieval
Companions can be very helpful in getting oriented to a new area of study.
To Request Books from Bates, Bowdoin, or Colby Storage
Click where the arrow points to request. Fill in the numerals only of the barcode on the back of your Colby ID.
Click here for 1-minute videos on how to search CBBcat , search WorldCat , submit ILL requests, etc.
Continue your research using terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in:
- JSTOR A collection of scholarly journals, many embargoed for the most current 5 years.
Iter - Citations for secondary sources on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, 400-1700
- International Medieval Bibliography Multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa, and the Near East, 300-1500
Historical Abstracts - Bibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Philosopher's Index - Citations and abstracts from hundreds of journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields, 1940 to present
Index Islamicus - scholarly literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world
Articles in academic journals reflect current scholarly debate
Look for a sidebar in databases that will allow you to limit searches by date, type
of source, language, etc.
Explore digitized primary sources in:
Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more. For a quick video on how to look up and request articles you find cited, click here .
Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in.
B iographical? Try encyclopedia articles or book-biographies.
P rimary sources? Look for letters, government documents, and artworks.
C ontemporary writers? Search bibliographies.
L iterary analyses of an author? Searc h in Iter or International Medieval Bibliography for articles, in catalogs for books.
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo