Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EA 252: EA 252

Databases

FIRST STEPS for REMOTE RESEARCH

  • On the Libraries' home page check UPDATES and REMOTE ACCESS.
  • Make sure you have Okta set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the Okta link first.)
  • Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are here.

Find scholarly articles and contemporary news:


For a focus specifically on Asia:

 

Articles in academic journals reflect current scholarly conversation on a given topic.

 Look for a sidebar in databases that will allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals, set date ranges, etc.

For access to even more articles, Request from another library through ILL.

Directions on signing up for ILL

CBBcat

EA 252

Lu Xun Park, Qingdao (Source: Wikicommons)

Librarian for East Asian Studies: Karen Gillum   kjgillum@colby.edu

Contact me at any time!

Construct your research strategically.

  • For background information, use Credo Reference or print dictionaries and encyclopedias
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in the Bibliography of Asian StudiesAcademic Search Complete, and other databases at left. Articles present an argument on a particular aspect of a topic, not facts alone.
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking. The longer form of a book provides greater breadth of general information or greater depth of argument.
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

Look for background on Chinese literary theory in -- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

on Chinese history in -- Cambridge History of China

on Chinese art in -- Oxford/Grove Art Online 

on Chinese film in -- Oxford Bibliography of Chinese Film

 

Use catalogs to find books

           CBBcat - for readily available e-books

To look for E-Books, change Entire CBB Collection to E-Books

A few examples:

The Cambridge history of Chinese literature. Vol. II

A concise history of Chinese literature, by Luo Yuming ; translated by Ye Yang

A new literary history of modern China, edited by David Der-wei Wang

Modern Chinese literature, Lin Shu and the Reformist movement: between classical and vernacular language, by César Guarde-Paz

Zhuangzi and modern Chinese literature, by Liu Jianmei

A companion to modern Chinese literature, edited by Yingjin Zhang 

Ideological Transformation of 20th Century Chinese Literature, by Xie, Mian 

Contested modernities in Chinese literature, edited by Charles A. Laughlin

Fiery cinema: the emergence of an affective medium in China, 1915-1945, by Weihong Bao

The lyrical in epic time: modern Chinese intellectuals and artists through the 1949 crisis, by David Der-wei Wang

Fragmenting modernisms: Chinese wartime literature, art, and film, 1937-49, by Carolyn FitzGerald

>> Renditions - back issues of this Chinese-English translation journal are available here


Look for more books by searching CBBcat and changing Entire CBB Collection to E-Books. To find more in collections not listed in the catalog, consult this library guide on the many places to find good resources.

 

Research Practice

1. Where would you look for a relatively brief explanation of Marxist or modernist literary theory? What is the title of the article you found?

2. Name two sources in which you could look for scholarly journal articles on Xiao Hong's writing. Give the title of one article and the title of the journal it is published in.

3. What is the title of a book about (not by) Ding Ling? What is its call number?  Which of the CBB schools has a student thesis related to Ding Ling in their Special Collections?

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next