Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 200: Faust

Research | Online

FIRST STEPS for REMOTE RESEARCH

  • On the Libraries' home page check UPDATES and REMOTE ACCESS.
  • Make sure you have Okta set up for access to articles in Colby databases. (You probably already do have this activated, but if you have trouble connecting to a database, check the Okta link first.)
  • Interlibrary loan connects you to even more articles electronically. Directions on how to register for ILL are here.

Research Strategies

For Background Information, Search:

​​​Use terminology and facts learned from the background articles to search for scholarly articles and reviews in MLA Bibliography, JSTOR, and Academic Search Complete.

For Articles about these Writers, Search:

For help with quickly assessing articles as you do your research, consult this guide, Researching & Reading

Research | Books

  • Search the Catalog for books by or about your writer. 
  • Then expand your search with subject linking.
  • Be sure to look at the Table of Contents and the Index.

To look for E-Books, change Entire CBB Collection to E-Books

                For more explanation, email me! kjgillum@colby.edu

 

For works by individual writers, search:

  • the CBBcat by Author, typing in family name first

For Books about individual writers, seach:

You can also search for general subject headings or for topics from a specific period:

For Books in libraries across the country, Search WorldCat

      How to sign up for an ILLiad account

For digitized texts of early Books printed in English: 

For 18th-century texts, explore

  • ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections

For more help on finding and using e-books, including collections that vendors are making free just for this spring, consult This New Guide

Use the notes and bibliographies from every useful source you find to turn up more articles on your topic. For a quick video on how to look up and request articles you cited, click here.  

Finally, think about what sorts of publication the information you still need might be published and stored in, and therefore where you would need to look for it.

  • Biographical?

  • Contemporary public reactions?

  • Literary analysis?

More 1-minute videos on using library resources

Feedback, Please

Please fill out the brief Feedback Form, linked here!

Thank you!

Faust in his Study


Contact Your Librarian

If you have questions, don't hesitate to contact me:    

Karen Gillum

kjgillum@colby.edu

Citations and Annotated Bibliography

MLA style for citations 

The purpose of citations

  • to show the research path followed             
  •  to provide leads for other researchers 

You need to cite when...

  • you directly quote someone else
  • you refer to another person's ideas 
  • you outline someone else's argument  

 EXAMPLE of MLA Style 

         on a Works Cited Page for an article retrieved from a database:

             Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction, vol. 47, no. 3, 2006, pp. 261-73. MLA International Bibliography. Accessed 17 January 2013.

Thus the pattern is:

              Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, year, page numbers. Name of database. [doi or url. Date of access (day month year).]

Requesting Books SORRY - NOT AVAILABLE SPRING 2020

For books at Bates, Bowdoin, or in Colby Storage:

In CBBcat, click on the CBB Request button in the record for the book you want. Then fill in your name and barcode number on the back of your Colby ID card.

To request books from WorldCatSign up for ILLiad

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next