Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides to Individual Authors
Source of the Sacred River, Albert Goodwin
For background information, look in:
- For essays on authors and literary genres; can be searched for a particular word or phrase or by category, including gender, genre, language, time period, nationality, and ethnicity. Scribner Writers
- For biographical essays on prominent Britons in every field, who have completed their lives. Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Oxford English Dictionary - For early uses of words and their various senses
- a searchable ebook for reference Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism
J ohns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism - presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements, with entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Oxford English Dictionary
Continue your research using terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in:
- MLA Bibliography For articles specifically on literature by modern scholars.
- JSTOR A collection of scholarly journals, many embargoed for the most current 5 years.
British Periodicals Collections - British periodicals from the 17th to 20th centuries on Science, Art, and Literature
- Literature Resource Center Includes "Overviews" of works, to the level of (well-known) poems, with history of appearance and critical appraisal.
Explore digitized primary sources in:
Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more. For a quick video on how to look up and request articles you find cited, click here .
Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in.
B iographical? Try Scribner Writers or book-biographies.
P rimary documents? Look for correspondence and diaries.
C ontemporary reactions? Search British Periodicals or ECCO.
L iterary analyses of an author? Searc h in MLA.
Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
- for readily available books CBBcat
- search catalogs of libraries worldwide WorldCat
Directions on signing up for ILL
For books individual writers, search CBBcat by by Author , typing in the family name first.
For books individual writers, search using their names as about Subject , e.g.:
Look for more Subject lines in catalog records and use them to branch out to more topics, e.g.:
Keyword Searching - -
Experiment with synonyms
Use asterisks to search for multiple word-forms at once: Poet* = Poet, Poetry, Poetic, Poets
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase: "Renaissance drama"
T ry searching the CBB catalog for Companion or Handbook and your author's name. Like this: . Companion Austen
Companions can be very helpful in getting oriented to a new area of study.
To Request Books from Bates, Bowdoin, or Colby Storage
Click where the arrow points to request. Fill in the numerals only of the barcode on the back of your Colby ID.
for 1-minute videos on how to search CBBcat, search WorldCat, submit ILL requests, etc. Click here
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo