It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GS/AY 211 Human Rights and Social Justice in Global Perspective: Resources
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
PAIS IndexThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Anthropology PlusA compilation of the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index Online, providing indexing of journals in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSourceFull-text online editions of numerous journals in anthropology and related fields, presented by the American Anthropological Association.
JSTORFull-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
Humanities International IndexA bibliographic index of over 1,700 U.S. and international journals in the humanities, covering articles, essays, reviews, and creative work in poetry, fiction, and visual arts.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
ScopusThe largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Please note: there are problems with the Scopus service. Full-text links and exports to some citation managers are not working. A workaround to get the full text is to copy and paste the article title into ONE SEARCH on the library home page, and you'll be able to access the full text.
The above databases can also be used to find non-scholarly material: magazines, newspapers, book reviews, etc. Look for document type designations.
Human Rights and Social Justice in a Global Perspective by Susan C. MappAn eye-opening overview of international human rights and social justice, this exemplary introductory text focuses on current global problems of pressing concern for social workers. Susan Mapp addresses difficult topics such as healthcare, violence against women, war and conflict, forced labor, and child soldiers in an accessible manner that encourages students to think critically about such problems, research the issues, and get involved with organizations that are working on them. The content comes alive with brief but vivid narratives of individuals suffering from these social problems, and with suggestions for what students can do to create change: both now and what they will be able to do as professionals. Mapp analyzes problems in their cultural contexts to help the reader understand how they developed, why they persist, and what the local and international responses, both governmental and nongovernmental, have been. As the world becomes ever more interconnected and problems in the Global South affect those in the North, this volume will educate and empower the next generation of social workers to effect real change in the world.
Publication Date: 2007, Oxford University Press, E-BOOK
Basic Documents on Human RightsThis is the eagerly awaited new edition of the established text Basic Documents on Human Rights which is an essential resource for all undergraduate students. The book provides an extensive collection of key documents and covering all elements of the subject, e.g. the Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women, accompanied by authoritative commentary and annotation. The result is a clear and accurate account of the most important Human Rights instruments adopted by the United Nations and its agencies, by regional organisations and other actors in the field. Forty new or amended instruments are featured in this edition and coverage of the new treaties and conventions includes; the Declaration on the Rights of Persons Belonging to National or Ethnic, Religious, or Linguistic Minorities, new treaties in emerging areas such as bio-ethics and a variety of additional protocols including those on civil and political rights, women and children. A new section of the text identifies the current number of States parties and directs the reader to the internet and other sources providing access to the latest information on ratifications, reservations and declarations.
Call Number: K3238 .A1 B76 2002 Miller Stacks
Publication Date: 2002 Oxford University Press
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights by Robert L. MaddexThe global importance of human rights issues has sparked an ongoing need to develop a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations, where remedies are, in fact, available. Giving the broadest scope to the terms human rights and freedoms, this reference encompasses constitutional rights and freedoms as well as those addressed in international and regional agreements.''''Through entries that define and describe concepts and terms, to text excerpts of documents, charts depicting global comparisons, essays on organizations, and biographies of activists and theorists, this reference will serve the research and information needs of students, scholars, activists, and interested citizens.''''As the title suggests, International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies goes beyond the abstract to include practical information on remedies for violations of a person's rights and freedoms by a national government, and on the private and government rights organizations that assist in reporting on or enforcing human rights.''''All around the world, there is a growing interest in developing a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations. International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies is written for both students of the subject and those who are actively working in the field. This reference work points readers in the right direction for enforcing their rights rather than merely setting them forth in the abstract.''
Call Number: JC571 .M3243 2000 Miller Stacks
Publication Date: 2000, CQ Press
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 by Winston E. LangleyThis outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Entries cover major issues, incidents and violations, concepts and terms, activists, organizations, and human rights instruments. Entries on more than fifty nations from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia were selected based on the incidence of major human rights in those nations. Comprehensive cross-references in each entry make it easy to research a topic and its related entries easily. Each entry concludes with a selected list of further reading for more in-depth research. A timeline of significant dates since 1945 in the field of human rights and the text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights add reference value.
Publication Date: 1999, Greenwood Press, E-BOOK
Advocacy for Social JusticeDrawing on the experience of Oxfam America and the Advocacy Institute as progressive social change organizations, Advocacy for Social Justice offers a framework for understanding advocacy in today's globalizing world. Above all, the book celebrates the innovative and inspirational advocacy efforts that are already creating change in so many countries, in both the North and the South. Intended for the advocacy practitioner and trainer alike, the text explores the elements of advocacy and offers a toolkit for taking action, comprehensive case studies, and hundreds of resource listings for hungry activists around the world.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineFull text of the publications of CIAO, with research in international affairs from a variety of sources such as conference papers, foundation-funded research projects, policy briefs, working papers, books, and journals.
World Bank DataBankThe World Bank’s database includes collections such as the World Development Indicators, Education Statistics and Gender Statistics. It includes data and statistics on international development, including population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators, covering individual countries as well as regional economies from 1960 to the present.
AccessUN (1945 - Present)An index of United Nations documents -- covering international economic, social, cultural, and humanitarian issues -- published from 1944 to the present.
Digital National Security ArchiveA collection of declassified documents on US foreign and military policy since 1945. Included are presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, confidential letters, emails, and other secret material.
UN Official DocumentsCovers official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. Includes Resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 to the present.
UNDataStatistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. UNCDB provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
Ethnic NewsWatchFull-text database of periodicals of the American ethnic and minority press, with works offering African-American, Arab-American, Asian-American, European-American, Latino, Jewish, and Native American perspectives.
Alternative Press IndexThe Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.