It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A research database is a search engine that allows you to locate quality journal articles and other scholarly material on a topic. Through the database you can link to full text content if owned by the Colby Libraries, or locate an art journal in print if owned by Colby.
Provides article abstracts on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals dating back to 1954; link to full text articles if owned by Colby
Art Source is our preferred database for art research. It combines the databases formerly known as Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective. Find full-text articles from over 600 international art journals, and detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. Art Source is international in scope, and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
From the Getty Research Institute, a comprehensive index (1975-2007) to art books, periodical articles, essays on art, conference proceedings, & dissertations. International in scope, covering all historical periods and cultures. Includes abstracts.
HathiTrust is a scholarly digital library with high quality digital facsimile reproductions of full texts of a huge array of literary, cultural and historical texts, full searchable as full texts and many offering PDF download. Log in as a Colby user to activate the downloading features and other user tools.
JSTOR is a full text archive of over one thousand leading scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes images, and is interlinked by citations and references.