It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary resources provide evidence to support key claims and arguments in research. This guide defines primary resources, provides evaluation criteria, and offers strategies for finding primary resources in large library catalogs and digital collections.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
This unique digital archive provides the full text of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 17th through the 20th centuries, offering an eclectic mix of major popular titles attitudes interests and events across culture, politics and society. Key themes covered in these publications include socialism and the labor movement, international affairs/conflict, leisure/rural life, the arts, travel/empire and childhood/youth.
A collection of primary-source material related to U.S. history -- primarily the period between 1840 and 1900 -- with thousands of monographs, journals, books, and articles. Produced in collaboration with the University of Michigan.
"Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages."