It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GS/AY 251 Global Displacement: Understanding Refugees & Refugee Policy
Anthropology PlusA compilation of the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index Online, providing indexing of journals in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSourceFull-text online editions of numerous journals in anthropology and related fields, presented by the American Anthropological Association.
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Historical AbstractsBibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
Humanities International IndexA bibliographic index of over 1,700 U.S. and international journals in the humanities, covering articles, essays, reviews, and creative work in poetry, fiction, and visual arts.
PAIS IndexThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
The above databases can also be used to find non-scholarly material: magazines, newspapers, book reviews, etc. Look for document type designations.
Basic Documents on Human Rights by Ian Brownlie (Editor); Guy S. Goodwin-Gill (Editor)This is the eagerly awaited new edition of the established text Basic Documents on Human Rights which is an essential resource for all undergraduate students. The book provides an extensive collection of key documents and covering all elements of the subject, e.g. the Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women, accompanied by authoritative commentary and annotation. The result is a clear and accurate account of the most important Human Rights instruments adopted by the United Nations and its agencies, by regional organisations and other actors in the field. Forty new or amended instruments are featured in this edition and coverage of the new treaties and conventions includes; the Declaration on the Rights of Persons Belonging to National or Ethnic, Religious, or Linguistic Minorities, new treaties in emerging areas such as bio-ethics and a variety of additional protocols including those on civil and political rights, women and children. A new section of the text identifies the current number of States parties and directs the reader to the internet and other sources providing access to the latest information on ratifications, reservations and declarations.
Call Number: K3238 .A1 B76 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-20
Protracted Refugee Situations by Anna G. Jonasdottir; Kathleen B. Jones; Gil Loescher (Editor); James Milner (Editor); Edward Newman (Editor); Gary G. Troeller (Editor)Over two-thirds of the world's refugees are struggling to survive in camps and urban communities in remote and insecure parts of the world. The vast majority of them have been in exile for many years or even generations. This is an affront to the dignity of millions of people deprived of a range of basic human rights and a failure for the international refugee regime. In addition, protracted refugee situations can be a driving force of ongoing grievances, instability, and insurgency. This volume presents a range of analyses and cases of protracted refugee situations. It explores the sources, nature, and consequences of these situations and the record of the international community's attempts to find durable solutions. The volume presents new thinking to address protracted refugee situations that incorporates security and development --as well as humanitarian --actors and attempts to reconcile the policy difficulties that have obstructed progress for many years.
Call Number: HV640 .P715 2008
Publication Date: 2009-01-21
Internally Displaced People by Global IDP Survey StaffThe number of internally displaced people far outnumbers estimated refugees who have fled their countries. The majority of displaced populations survive with very little security or legal protection. Responding to the needs of internally displaced people is one of the greatest humanitarian challenges of our time.
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Advocacy for Social Justice by David Cohen; Rosa De la Vega; Gabrielle WatsonDrawing on the experience of Oxfam America and the Advocacy Institute as progressive social change organizations, Advocacy for Social Justice offers a framework for understanding advocacy in today's globalizing world. Above all, the book celebrates the innovative and inspirational advocacy efforts that are already creating change in so many countries, in both the North and the South. Intended for the advocacy practitioner and trainer alike, the text explores the elements of advocacy and offers a toolkit for taking action, comprehensive case studies, and hundreds of resource listings for hungry activists around the world.
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights by Robert L. Maddex; Mary Robinson; Desmond TutuThe global importance of human rights issues has sparked an ongoing need to develop a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations, where remedies are, in fact, available. Giving the broadest scope to the terms human rights and freedoms, this reference encompasses constitutional rights and freedoms as well as those addressed in international and regional agreements.''''Through entries that define and describe concepts and terms, to text excerpts of documents, charts depicting global comparisons, essays on organizations, and biographies of activists and theorists, this reference will serve the research and information needs of students, scholars, activists, and interested citizens.''''As the title suggests, International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies goes beyond the abstract to include practical information on remedies for violations of a person's rights and freedoms by a national government, and on the private and government rights organizations that assist in reporting on or enforcing human rights.''''All around the world, there is a growing interest in developing a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations. International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies is written for both students of the subject and those who are actively working in the field. This reference work points readers in the right direction for enforcing their rights rather than merely setting them forth in the abstract.''
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
You may also want to look at...
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Political Philosophy by George Klosko (Editor)Fifty distinguished contributors survey the entire history of political philosophy. They consider questions about how the subject should best be studied; they examine historical periods and great theorists in their intellectual contexts; and they discuss aspects of the subject that transcend periods, such as democracy, the state, and imperialism.
Publication Date: 2011-07-14
The Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics by Hugh LaFollette (Editor)The Oxford Handbooks series is a major new initiative in academic publishing. Each volume offers an authoritative and up-to-date survey of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from leading figures in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates. Oxford Handbooks provide scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives upon a wide range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. The Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics is a lively and authoritative guide to current thought about ethical issues in all areas of human activity - personal, medical, sexual, social, political, judicial, and international, from the natural world to the world of business. Twenty-eight topics are covered in specially written surveys by leading figures in their fields: each gives an authoritative map of the ethical terrain, explaining how the debate has developed in recent years, engaging critically withthe most notable work in the area, and pointing directions for future work. The Handbook will be essential reading, and a fascinating resource of ideas and information, for academics and students across a wide range of disciplines.
Publication Date: 2005-11-10
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 by Winston E. LangleyThis outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Entries cover major issues, incidents and violations, concepts and terms, activists, organizations, and human rights instruments. Entries on more than fifty nations from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia were selected based on the incidence of major human rights in those nations. Comprehensive cross-references in each entry make it easy to research a topic and its related entries easily. Each entry concludes with a selected list of further reading for more in-depth research. A timeline of significant dates since 1945 in the field of human rights and the text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights add reference value.
Compiled from UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) field reports with
information on refugees “relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks.”
Full text of the publications of CIAO, with research in international affairs from a variety of sources such as conference papers, foundation-funded research projects, policy briefs, working papers, books, and journals.
The online catalog of the library of the International Labour Organization. The main aims of the ILO are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues.
Daily reports from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a department of the Central Intelligence Agency that monitored publicly viewable news from around the world. Coverage from 1941-1996.
GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS & DATA
AccessUN (1945 - Present)An index of United Nations documents -- covering international economic, social, cultural, and humanitarian issues -- published from 1944 to the present.
Digital National Security ArchiveA collection of declassified documents on US foreign and military policy since 1945. Included are presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, confidential letters, emails, and other secret material.
UN Official DocumentsCovers official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. Includes Resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 to the present.
UNDataStatistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. UNCDB provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
Alternative Press IndexThe Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)News sources from the US, Canada, and the rest of the world, 1980 - the present. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Provides full-text.