It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locate a scholarly article about an artist, or a review of an exhibition in key journals or newspapers
Locate articles about a theme or movement in relation to an artist.
E.g search: maya lin AND (nature OR landscape*)
Databases for Art Research
Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
New York Times 1980 to Current"This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history."
Afterall is a journal of contemporary art, providing a forum for in-depth analysis of art's context and seeking to inspire artists to see art as an agency for change. Each issue provides the reader with lengthy, well-researched articles, and includes different writers discussing the same artist's work from varied perspectives.
An essential journal, October focuses critical attention on the contemporary arts—film, painting, music, media, photography, performance, sculpture, and literature—and their various contexts of interpretation. Online only article access.