It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The first Smithsonian Affiliate in the state of Maine, the Abbe Museum works to inspire new learning about the Wabanaki Nations with every visit through education and research. The Library and Archives are available by appointment.
A community-based history project providing information on Jewish citizens of Maine through a state-of-the-art genealogical and historical resource reflecting the Jewish traditions of memory, remembrance and inter-generational learning.
Without the work, contributions, and insights of women, Portland—and the world—would be a very different place. Because women’s lives, in many ways, have been different from men’s lives, so has women’s history been distinct. By walking this trail, you can begin to connect with the lives of your figurative sisters, mothers, aunts, and great grandmothers in all the diversity of backgrounds that these women represent. You will never see the city of Portland in the same way again.
The University of Maine Office of Franco-American Affairs was founded in 1972 by Franco-American students and community volunteers. This office subsequently became the Franco-American Centre. The purpose of the Centre has been to introduce and integrate the Maine, regional, and United States Franco-American fact in post-secondary academe and in particular the University of Maine.
The mission of the University of Southern Maine’s Franco-American Collection is to preserve and promote the culture and heritage of Maine’s Franco-American population.
The Collection focuses on Lewiston-Auburn and other areas of Maine, with additional regional materials providing a link to the wider contexts of French North America.
The Finnish-American Heritage Society is organized for the purpose of promoting, in a social setting, a cultural and educational appreciation of Finland and to explore the traditions of the Finnish families who settled here.
Open access to historical U.S. media -- including written and spoken works, sound recordings, images, prints, maps, and sheet music -- documenting the American experience, drawn from the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Ancestry.com's online search tool, providing access to a collection of documents -- including census data, birth, marriage, and death records, almanacs, and newspapers -- meant to facilitate genealogical research.
The acclaimed Archive of Americana enables students and scholars to explore virtually every aspect of United States history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Providing unprecedented online access to newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government publications and more, the Archive of Americana puts tens of millions of pages of primary documents at researchers' fingertips. Allowing cross-collection searching, Archive of Americana collections offer fully searchable facsimile images, superior authority-based indexing, bibliographic records and PDFs that can be quickly downloaded and printed.
Full-text database of periodicals of the American ethnic and minority press, with works offering African-American, Arab-American, Asian-American, European-American, Latino, Jewish, and Native American perspectives.
Over 13,500 images of gravestone sculptures -- most from before 1800 -- in the northeastern United States, sponsored by the American Antiquarian Society. Data accompanying the photographs includes the name and death date of the deceased, the location of the stone, and information concerning the stone material, the iconography, the inscription, and the carver.
A resource for primary source documents covering the history of women in social movements in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000, this collection provides information on women's reform activities by bringing together books, images, and full-text documents as well as scholarly essays, a chronology of U.S. women's history, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a bibliography, and teaching tools.
The Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.
Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering native North American culture, history, and life, with coverage spanning from the 16th century to the present. Topics include archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
This links to the new interface, Literature Resource Center. Contemporary Authors contained biographical and bibliographical information on contemporary novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. All of this and more is now cross-searchable in the LRC.
Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and AFI Catalog together in one site. The result of distinguished partnerships with the British Film Institute (BFI), the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and the American Film Institute (AFI), these three databases are cornerstone resources for research in film. Searched together, they offer an unparalleled level of detail, and as companion sites they provide the most comprehensive and trustworthy coverage of films available.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, covering subjects such as education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Produced in collaboration with Cornell.
"The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture."