It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maine's participation in the Civil War is legendary: heroes and heroines, a huge per capita participation rate, nurses, and homefront activities, as well as post-war remembrances.
These pages pull together resources from Maine Memory Network and Maine History Online that explore and illuminate aspects of Maine and the Civil War.
A statewide digital museum of over 12,000 historical items, including rare photographs, documents, artifacts and online exhibits from over 180 museums, historical societies, libraries, and other organizations.
Without the work, contributions, and insights of women, Portland—and the world—would be a very different place. Because women’s lives, in many ways, have been different from men’s lives, so has women’s history been distinct. By walking this trail, you can begin to connect with the lives of your figurative sisters, mothers, aunts, and great grandmothers in all the diversity of backgrounds that these women represent. You will never see the city of Portland in the same way again.
Full-text access to a number of historical U.S. periodicals, with a focus on texts providing unique windows into historical events and daily life in the early United States. Topics covered include slavery, the Civil War, and women's rights.
A large collection of electronic images of historical American ephemera -- printed materials not intended to last -- comprising thousands of broadsides plus other media such as cards, envelopes, and playbills.
Open access to historical U.S. media -- including written and spoken works, sound recordings, images, prints, maps, and sheet music -- documenting the American experience, drawn from the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Ancestry.com's online search tool, providing access to a collection of documents -- including census data, birth, marriage, and death records, almanacs, and newspapers -- meant to facilitate genealogical research.
The acclaimed Archive of Americana enables students and scholars to explore virtually every aspect of United States history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Providing unprecedented online access to newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government publications and more, the Archive of Americana puts tens of millions of pages of primary documents at researchers' fingertips. Allowing cross-collection searching, Archive of Americana collections offer fully searchable facsimile images, superior authority-based indexing, bibliographic records and PDFs that can be quickly downloaded and printed.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, covering subjects such as education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Produced in collaboration with Cornell.
Sabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s containing information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. This resource offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
Article abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.