Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 120: Frankenstein

Subject Headings

Search for books in CBBcat with these subject headings:

How to request books from Bates and Bowdoin

Sign up for ILL and request books and articles Colby doesn't own.

A FEW MORE TIPS

What are scholarly journals?
Scholarly journals...

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • typically contain peer reviewed articles

How can you identify a scholarly journal article?

Look for...

  • an abstract 
  • a bibliography
  • in-text citations 
  • specialized language     

Why should I use Reference sources?
To look for...

  • definitions
  • historical context  
  • biographical information

LOOKING FOR SCHOLARSHIP

Boris Karloff as Frankenstein's Monster,
Photo courtesy of Universal Studios

Suggested databases:                              

Look for more databases by subject:

Look for background information in:

For articles on Mary Shelley see her individual guide


Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Looking up background information first can save you time later - use the Scribner Writers Series to find out about Mary Shelley and Credo Reference to check terminology in bioethics. CQ Researcher presents an outline in very general terms of currently controversial topics: may be useful to skim for basic orientation, picking up the vocabulary of the debate, and scanning briefly over the Pro and Con section. 
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in Academic Search Complete and the other databases above.
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find, looking for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

                   

If you need help with anything, don't hesitate to contact me!                                  kjgillum@colby.edu

CITATION

Use MLA style to create citations in the humanities

"What is the purpose of citations?"

Citations show the research path taken to develop an idea, and they provide leads for other researchers to discover information in related resources.

"When do I need to cite?"

Of course you need to cite when you directly quote someone else, but it's also important to cite when you refer to another person's ideas or when you outline someone else's argument or line of reasoning.

EXAMPLE of MLA Style on a Works Cited page for an article retrieved from a database:

Homer, Michael Bennett. "Frankenfish … It's What's For Dinner: The FDA, Genetically Engineered Salmon, And The Flawed Regulation Of 

Biotechnology." Columbia Journal Of Law & Social Problems vol. 45. Sep. 2011, 83-137. Academic Search Complete

http://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail/detail?vid=4&sid=35f0f70e-ff5d-4bea-8541-3da24ef82b18%40sdc-v-

sessmgr02&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#AN=67744985&db=a9h Accessed 21 Jan. 2013.

thus the formula is:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal  volume #. issue # Date Published [month. year], page number range. Name of Database. URL or DOI.  

        Accessed Date of access [day month year].

 

MORE EXAMPLES and explanations at Purdue's OWL site:

Searching Tips

KEYWORD SEARCHING

  • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings:  medic*  = medicine, medical, etc.
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase:  "genetically modified" 
  • Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms:  (cloning OR mutation)

REFINE YOUR SEARCH

  • Use the various limiting parameters in sidebars of databases to narrow your search appropriately
  • Skim the terminology in entries for new keywords and synonyms to use in repeating your search

EXPAND YOUR SEARCH

  • On the EBSCO platform, click on the Choose Databases link near the top of the screen to add another subject database to your field of search

SUBJECT SEARCHING

  • Find a good book or article in a Keyword search? Look at its full record to see if there are Subject Terms. Click on these links to find other sources about that subject.

A few examples:

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next