Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 120: Lighthouse

LIBRARY RESOURCES

 

Karen Gillum,
Librarian

kjgillum@colby.edu                    

MLA
Academic Search Complete 
Library Guide                              

RESEARCH LINKS

Search the catalogs for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin with CBBcat

   

Expand your search to include articles by using OneSearch

Extend your search to libraries worldwide with WorldCat



Look it up in..

Contemporary Authors   or

Dictionary of Literary Biography

   For brief biographies and bibliographies

Credo Reference

    A collection of encyclopedias

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

   Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements, with entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements

New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics

Literary Encyclopedia

Literature Online


 

Search for articles in...

Academic Search Complete

   A broad database including both academic and popular periodicals.

MLA International Bibliography


  A database of articles on literature, most written by scholars.

 Tips for Using MLA International Bibliography  

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format

2. Set search limits before you begin searching

3. Try using Names as Subjects and add terms from critical vocabulary, such as imagery, intertextual, etc,

    4. Further refine your search   by adding Subject Terms.                   

 

 JSTOR

   A collection of scholarly journals on Humanist topics. JSTOR searches the entire text of articles, rather than just titles, abstracts, and keywords. This means you need to be a little more careful in framing your searches.

 ProQuest NewsStand

   A collection of online newspapers.

America's Historical Newspapers

 

Poetry sites on the Web

 

For Shakespeare:

                       v.45 Hamlet & its Afterlife

Archives:

Search the Colby Catalog for subjects such as: 

INTERVIEWS

Lighthouse

       Photograph: John Lawrence/Getty Images

Think Strategically about Your Research

 

  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking

  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more

  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in.

               Biographical? Try DLB, Credo, or monographic biographies.
               Contemporary public reactions?  Search ProQuest Newsstand or choose magazines in Academic Search Complete.
               Literary analyses of an author? Search in MLA International Bibliography.


And if you need help with anything, don't hesitate to contact me:                                        kjgillum@colby.edu

 


For Shakespeare's Birthday ~~  ask at the front desk in Miller for directions to the April display of Shakespeare books


Citation Help:

    Formula for an article retrieved from a database on a Works Cited page:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal  volume #. issue # (year): page number range. Name of Database. Web. Date of access [day month year].

Storage Display

How books in Colby Storage appear in the catalog

 How To : Requesting Books Through CBBcat

Click where the arrow points to request.

BOOKS

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next