It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find open access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a wide range of institutions and cultures. You can search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
HathiTrust is a scholarly digital library with high quality digital facsimile reproductions of full texts of a huge array of literary, cultural and historical texts, fully searchable with many offering PDF download. Log in as a Colby user to activate the downloading features and other user tools.
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources
Books relating to Medicine in Visual Culture
Start with CBBcat to find books on artists, illustrators, and various topics and issues relating to the medicine and visual culture. Use WorldCat for a more complete representation of book material.
Cambridge Illustrated History of Medicine by Roy Porter (Editor)The Cambridge Illustrated History of Medicine not only surveys the rise of medicine in the West from earliest times to the present day, but also glimpses into the future. Written with exemplary scholarship, with many illustrations from art and science, this volume will be of use in interdisciplinary study of art and medicine.
Call Number: SCIENCE R131 .C232 2001
Five Hundred Years of Medicine in Art: An Illustrated Catalogue of Prints and Drawings by Susan Wheeler (Editor)"The Clements C. Fry Collection is among most comprehensive collections of art related to the history of medicine. The collection surveys the general, non-didactic historical iconography of medicine and health care. Examples of medical satire number 1,000. Doctors visiting their patients, satires of therapeutic fads, polemics on vaccination, temperance propaganda, anatomy in art, childbirth scenes, hospital facades, and images of disease are among the scores of subjects significantly represented. Mental illness is included, including representations of patients, psychiatric institutions, and therapeutic practice."
Medical Visions by Kirsten OstherrHow do visual images shape the practice of medicine? What role does visual representation play in the cultivation of medical ways of seeing? How might the history of medical imaging technologies help us understand the future of medical media? How has medicine's visual culture changed in the digital age? Kirsten Ostherr's ambitious book explores 120 years of medical image-making to explain how visual representations shape medical education and practice.
Call Number: SCIENCE TR893 .O88 2013
Medicine in Art by Giorgio Bordin; Laura Polo D'AmbrosioThis abundantly illustrated volume offers an exploration of the depictions of illness and healing in Western artworks that range from Egyptian wall carvings to medieval manuscripts, and from paintings and sculpture by the great masters of the Renaissance such as Michelangelo and Leonardo da Vinci to twentieth-century artists such as Matisse and Magritte. Psychological anguish--as represented in The Expulsion of Adam and Eve by Masaccio and Munch's The Scream--is treated along with the physical manifestations of pain.