It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Transition was originally published in Uganda as a forum for intellectual debate in the time of decolonization until 1976. A new series (1991), expanded scope to the entire post-colonial world with a multicultural perspective. From Magazines for Libraries
Provides bibliographical coverage of the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Included are article abstracts and citations to books and dissertations. Coverage of the literature begins 1952.
Covers works written about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world in Africa, Asia, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Included are journals, multi-authored works, monographs and conference proceedings.
The PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
A combination of two indexes, the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index, providing worldwide coverage of journals in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
Archived collection of scanned journals with a common interface that makes it easy search. Currently, there are about 25 African Studies journals included in JSTOR. JSTOR does not cover the most current scholarship, usually current up to 3-5 years past.
This site provides access to a number of journals published in Africa, and currently includes 11 political science journals. Search for journal articles on Africa here, but be sure to use this resource in conjunction with other indexes below for more thorough research.
Aluka is an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. Includes scholarly materials ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, maps, oral histories, photographs and slides.